We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good kalua pork and Hawaiian BBQ pork” 4 of 5 stars
Review of India's Tandoori - CLOSED

India's Tandoori
916 N. Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
(310) 675-5533
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Pakistani, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: S Inglewood Avenue
Description: Authentic Indian Cuisine
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good kalua pork and Hawaiian BBQ pork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The KALUA PORK was juicy and smoky. The beef that also came in the #1 combo was almost not worth eating--not especially tender or tasty. The chicken nuggets were O.K. I thought they were a bit tough and dry, but my hubby, who likes firm chewy foods far more than I do, liked them fine.

The BBQ pork was tender enough, and had enough taste so it was almost hard to eat by itself.

SIDE DISHES the macaroni salad had potato bits and less mayo, if any, than Hawaiian mac salad elsewhere; the cabbage ramen salad had sliced cabbage, broken up chunks of uncooked ramen noodles (like the kind that comes wrapped in plastic with no cup), sesame seeds and flavor; the 2 wontons were deep fried and fun to crunch on.

Half of my "plate" (as opposed to the "bowl" version, which comes with only rice, not the choice of 3 sides like the "plate") was enough for a petite lunch.

The decor is very casual, the tables and chairs small-ish. Parking in the back was easy.

Even though the meats were not as juicy as Ono's, I would love to go back and try the fried rice or fish tacos, among other things.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    13
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Great Value and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We visited because we knew this was the closest to Lahaina we'd be getting on our trip to L.A. We loved the food, excellent service and even cheesy hawaiian decor. I had the Teryaki Chicken and my husband had the Mixed Plate. Both were excellent with huge portions for the price! Get the fried rice with bacon!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A touch of Hawaii in L.A.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The dining room is decorated to look tropical with a painted "sky" and even a tree growing in the middle of the room with a raised glass ceiling, along with fake tropical plants and fruit strewn about. The service is friendly and attentive. The food is good and portions are generous. Lots of dishes remind me of Hawaiian "local" food. The only thing missing is poi, but there probably isn't a big demand for it. My husband likes their Chinese Chicken Salad on which you can select the type of chicken (shredded, BBQ, etc). I like the BBQ pork. You get to select from several side dishes with every entree. Not expensive either. We usually have dinner for 2 for under $30, but we're light eaters. Yummm! Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

From start to finish the service was great. The food was a little long in coming but when it arrived it was delicious. Hard to review the atmosphere there were only 4 other people in. I imagine at night it would be a great place to eat also. The food was well cooked, hot, well presented and well priced. i would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Try the Lahaina fried chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

You have to try the Lahaina fried chicken. Nothing like it out there. My daughter loves to eat here & my wife loves the salads. Great place to go if your tired of the FGI Fridays, Chill's same ol same ol.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India's Tandoori also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India's Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.