We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sloopy's

Sloopy's
3416 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3341
310-545-1373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 179 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been to sloopys several times now and it seems to be a hit or miss. I've had great food and great service and then I come back a month later, food is terrible and I can't even place an order. I think it's best to go during their busy times - Sat/Sun brunch, otherwise you won't even get noticed walking in the restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Really yummy food at sloopys . I really enjoyed the breakfasts. They have great healthy choices. The cafe is covered in beautiful plants, it is a perfect place to relax.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Sloopys! Always have always will!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great garden feel. Excellent no frills food. Love the veggie burger and chocolate peanut butter shakes!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate/raspberry shake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Sloopy's multiple times during our stay in Manhattan Beach. The food was tasty but not anything special, however the chocolate/raspberry shake was superb! There was a huge selection of flavors that you could then combine to create a unique shake. Before ordering, I asked if the raspberry flavor was from fresh raspberries or syrup. I was told that it was mainly fresh raspberries, with a little bit of syrup for a more intense flavor. It was the perfect combination-there were chunks of fresh raspberry in the finished shake, and it didn't taste at all artificially-flavored. Sloopy's has a very nice feel, as well. The front part of the restaurant has driftwood benches and tables with a fireplace in the middle of the room. The back section is a little courtyard, which got chilly in the evenings but was nice during the day. Although the food wasn't superb, the chocolate/raspberry shake and the setting made Sloopy's one of our favorite stops for an afternoon snack!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Cool little garden feel as you enter and great food! They are known for the shakes, WOW. Are they good!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloopy's also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Sloopy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sloopy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.