We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Food Well Prepared” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sion's Mexican Restaurant

Sion's Mexican Restaurant
235 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-6801
310-372-4504
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 179 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Mexican Food Well Prepared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A good place to eat and our kids like it. I find the food well prepared but too Sonorian for my taste

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice place, bland food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had dinner there a couple of times recently. It appears to be a favorite with the older set, of which we are part. The place is clean and friendly although the wait staff is a little challenged with English. But that is OK. Prices are reasonable.
Our chief complaint is that the food, although plentiful, is unremarkable, not bad, just bland. I ordered the garlic shrimp dish last time and the shrimp had a rubbery texture to it, suggesting that it was overcooked. Too bad, otherwise it is a nice place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Hot Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Mexican omletter for breakfast called "El Healthy" was amazing especially with a chilli dip and those crunchy crispy things. Lovely place, lovely people.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Argumentative horrible waiter, food diner quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

Asked waiter direct questions, for which he gave me response of his imagined real question. After telling him first time/hungry, it was hell to understand him. Food was ok, not gourmet or authentic from my experience. Got French toast after disaster had hair or thread in it, waiter "I knew this would happen!" really? How? Perhaps it's a Mexican restaurant trait.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The shredded beef tacos are the best. The service is always friendly and fast. The restaurant and bathrooms are super clean. A very comfortable, easy spot for a family lunch or dinner. They also serve breakfast which I hear is quite good. They are closed on Sundays.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sion's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Sion's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sion's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.