We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pancho's is a great Mexican restaurant overall. Large portions. Not cheap.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pancho's Restaurant

Pancho's Restaurant
3615 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3298
+1 310-545-6670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 179 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rosecrans Avenue
Transit: Bus stop on Rosecrans. Hotel trolley stop in front of restaurant.
Description: Authentic Mexican cuisine, award-winning margaritas, world-class service and nightly entertainment.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pancho's is a great Mexican restaurant overall. Large portions. Not cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pancho's Mexican restaurant had a great romantic older-style feel and decor. The food was in huge portions that the average person could definitely not finish. I ate the chicken chimichanga, which was excellent. Others in our party had seafood quesadilla and the steak salad. Those were great also. I also had an excellent margarita there. They have at least 20 kinds of tequila also. I feel they could reduce their portions, therefore their prices a bit as well. We were pleasantly surprised that if you paid your bill in cash, you get a 7% discount! Unheard of! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Overall, we would go back with our cash!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Mexico in Manhattan Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pancho's is always fun. Authentic Mexican food in a great atmosphere. It can get wild here on the weekends but that's half the fun. Great bar, great food and great staff.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, delicious, beach-close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great food and service, beach-close and authentic Mexican cuisine in the heart of Manhattan Beach residential area.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spinache Enchilada and a margarita!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great mexican food, salsa and margaritas! Friday and Saturday nights are hopping in the bar with live bands. Dont forget to take a cab home!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very loud and busy, but delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

On my last day in Los Angeles, I wanted some really good Mexican food. We were staying at the Comfort Inn not far from there and the concierge recommended this restaurant. A lady happened to be there and spoke out to agree with him, saying it was the best.

I had no idea what to expect. I'm from Texas and have grown up eating really good Mexican food, but was interested in what LA would call Mexican. It was really good, I was not disappointed.

Figuring that it would be busy on a Saturday night, I called and to my surprise they accept reservations. When we got there, we found that they have valet parking (can't remember if it's free or not) and the place was indeed very busy.

We arrived a few minutes early but we didn't have to wait for long. Maybe 5 minutes or less. There is a ton of stuff to see there. You could easily spend a lot of time just looking around at their silk plants, paintings and so forth.

We were shown to a nice, but very small table. The one thing that I didn't like was the noise. It was very loud. So loud that I could not understand what the waiter was saying. Yes, he was probably Mexican and had an accent, but that wasn't the problem since I've grown up hearing that accent. The problem was the unimaginable noise. I had to shout across our teensy table, just so my husband could hear me.

As for the waiter himself, he was very good. I ordered what he recommended, which I believe was the Especial de Cabo. Man oh man. That was DELICIOUS! Also it was an enormous dish, which was a bit disappointing only because I would be leaving the next morning, so I wouldn't have been able to eat the leftovers. The margarita I got was very good too, but it sure packed a punch.

The silk plants and open-air-like ceiling made it an interesting building. There was music too, somewhere. We never saw them but could hear them. It would even be better if they used real plants, which wouldn't be hard. Start slow. Replace them one at a time.

All in all, I really enjoyed it. It only loses one star because of the noise.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Restaurant also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Pancho's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancho's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.