We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1817 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Finding a good hotel was tricky, because we wanted a hotel within walking distance of shops, clean (this is paramount for me), spacious and not too expensive.

The Hawthorne Suites was all this and more. The building is a sunny yellow colour, which instantly lifts your spirits as you walk in. All the rooms (on all 3 or so floors) open to a verandah with a sitting area on the ground level. The first thing I noticed when walking into the lobby for the first time was how clean it was. The rooms were tended with the same level of hygiene.

I was travelling with my sister and we had a huge bed and lots of space to spread our luggage. There was even a pull-out sofa for my friend to spend the night.

The staff were always very helpful. On our last day, after checking out we were able to keep our luggage downstairs until we were ready to leave for the airport for our night flight.

This was a find of a hotel and I loved staying there. It was extremely fantastic value for money and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    192
    61
    17
    13
See reviews for
139
108
34
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TS221
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I stayed at Hawthorn Suites in February 2010 and it was a very relaxing experience. Just walking into it, I could tell this hotel was exactly what I was looking for. The staff is friendly and willing to answer all of your questions. The rooms are up to date and are of high quality. The room itself had a very nice living and kitchen area that was modern and useful. The beds were very comfortable, and provided an exceptional night’s sleep. A nice touch was that the door to our room opened to a charming courtyard. There was also a beer/wine/cheese happy hour in the evening at no charge that was a pleasant surprise when most hotels are cutting out such “extras”. The price was shockingly reasonable for all the amenities and I would love to and plan in staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We booked one night at this hotel after arriving from a 7 night cruise. We needed a room in close proximity to the airport and would sleep 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 young children. Our room had two queens and a pull out couch plus a mini kitchenette. The hotel does not have a pool but it does have a lovely inner courtyard that is very peaceful. Across and up the street a little ways is a shopping mall for those who want to do a bit of shopping. The airport is about ten minutes away but we never felt like we were sitting on the runway which was great. I would definitely book here again for an overnight stay. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you want a hotel for a week to laze around the pool since there isn't one! If you are looking to go to the parks you would be better off staying in Anaheim or Buena Park but if you want to be close the airport then book this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

If glitz and glamour are your goals when visiting MB, I would suggest staying somewhere else.
But, if you are interested in a clean reasonably priced hotel, then look no further than the Hawthorn Suites. Located on Sepulveda, it has great access to restaurants, beaches, and anything else a person may desire at the beach.
Clean rooms, a comfortable bed, and even a kitchenette are great ways to keep me coming back to any hotel, and Hawthorn Suites has this equation down.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We are here on an extended stay and could not be more pleased. The entire staff is friendly and eager to assist.The suite has been quiet, clean, and has all the necessary amenities we could want. The location is well situated which makes it ideal for any type of shopping and dining. The layout is very nice . The indoor parking is a real plus with an elevator to take you right to the lobby or level of your room. We have no complaints and would not change a thing. For the dollars spent, this is perfect. We wish we would have known about this on past visits. The breakfast and social hour are a plus.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

This place fit all of my needs. Liked that everything was included upfront with a very reasonable rate. Parking, and internet were free! They also have free full breakfast with eggs, bacon, and waffles and much more. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff went above and beyond when helping me directions. Pretty close to the beach. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

I agree with others that this property is a little strange and depressing. Odd smell in the room, loud plumbing from other rooms and terrible coffee in the breakfast room as well as inferior food choice. The hotel and room decor was a step above a Motel 6. But the prices did not reflect the condition of the property, so it was a very bad value. My recommendation is to look for a better alternative in the area. Next time I will.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuitesMB, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Here at the Hawthorn Suites Manhattan Beach we wish to provide each and every guest with outstanding customer service and quality. Our motto is to always try to resolve any issues our guests may have once they are brought to our attention. Any time that a guest brings a matter or concern to our attention we always try to resolve the situation to the satisfaction of the guest in a prompt manner. We have recently upgraded our food selection and items. The Hawthorn Suites Manhattan Beach strives to provide excellent service, clean and comfortable accommodations that exceed our guest’s expectations. Customer satisfaction is our #1 concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles

Address: 1817 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy a fresh, new hotel experience were our motto is Live Well, Sleep Easy. Situated in the heart of fashionable Manhattan Beach, our contemporary studio and one-bedroom suites offer the cozy ambiance of residential living in Southern California's relaxing beach culture. NOW WITH EVEN FASTER DOWNLOAD AND UPLOAD SPEED. EXPERIENCE THE DIFFERENCE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Los Angeles Hotel Manhattan Beach
Hawthorn Suites Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.