We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a window seat and enjoy the glorious sunset!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand House

The Strand House
117 Manhattan Beach Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
+1 310-545-7470
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Strand House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Drive
Description: "This place is only a month old but very hip- excellent food. Sits right on the hill overlooking the pier at Manhattan Beach".
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Get a window seat and enjoy the glorious sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My sister came in town and I coudl not think of a more perfect place to take her to enjoy an early dinner during sunset before heading out to a show in LA. I was SO PLEASED! Other than the fact that our waiter was really slow, our cocktails hit the spot, the buttermilk parker house rolls were OUTTA SIGHT (seriously OMG!), we each had a bowl of their incredibly fresh split pea soup and shared a small margherita pizza. Just perfect! The views were just stunning! I mean AWESOME! What a way to WOW your out of town family member huh?
I know this place has outrageious wait times and it's impossible to get a good reservation when you want it on short notice, but if you can plan in advance and get the date/time you want...it is totally worth it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    90
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Sitting at a corner table with expansive views of Manhattan Beach! The strawberry mojitos were amazing. The Heirloom tomato, burrata cheese, and avacado salad was one of the best salads I have ever had. My daughter said the Jidori chicken sandwich was one of the best she had ever had. Our favorite meal of our CA vacation!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ocean views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Strand House sits adjacent to the beach in Manhattan Beach,CA. The views from most tables is excellent. The food is very good and the service is acceptable. Try the Sunday brunch,which is truly wonderful and then take a stroll along the strand and enjoy the Pacific Ocean and expansive beaches.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food wine and views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just had amazing pizza. The girl who greeted us was lovely and our server Ric was great . He had loads of information for us about the area and the Napa Valley. The food , wine and service are excellent and good value for the quality . Wished we lived nearer, this would become our local!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent view excellent food! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just had amazing pizza. The girl who greeted us was lovely and our server Ric was great . He had loads of information for us about the area and the Napa Valley. The food , wine and service are excellent and good value for the quality . Wished we lived nearer, this would become our local!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand House also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to The Strand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.