We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Amazing Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand House

The Strand House
117 Manhattan Beach Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
+1 310-545-7470
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Strand House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Drive
Description: "This place is only a month old but very hip- excellent food. Sits right on the hill overlooking the pier at Manhattan Beach".
Orinda, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Room and Amazing Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I love the location of this spacious beautifully designed restaurant with pier and ocean views. We went on a Sunday for a late breakfast/lunch and were seated at a great table, then we waited and waited until I could wave someone down to get some water and ask for a waiter, she was very nice but very unorganized. The meal took a very long time to get there and when it did mine was cold and not what one would expect for a upscale restaurant, the side of bacon I ordered never made it. Even with the wonderful view we eventually wanted to leave and I had to go get the waiter to pay my tab. I am hopeful this was just a bad day and I will try this place again because the location and views are hard to beat

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    90
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best View of Manhattan Pier & Ocean + Good food too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We annually go down to Manhattan Beach for lunch & early Christmas shopping. The Strand House is newly renovated and upscaled -- ans the views are unbeatable. I met up with a couple of business colleagues here for lunch -- a great selection!

Great for business lunch meetings or a romantic outing -- or just to enjoy the view with a drink.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis in Manhattan Beach close to LAX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is superb. It is right by the pier in Manhattan Beach overlooking the ocean. There is a laid back bar area, as well as the restaurant one floor up. Both levels have floor to ceiling windows to maximize the view. We sat outside at the corner table, and it was just us and the beach. We enjoyed perhaps the best moules at frites ever (and I have eaten them all over the world). Service was attentive but not intrusive. All this only 15 minutes from the airport. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Fries Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only wanted a snack so we ordered the garlic fries and brussel spouts in black garlic. OHMIGOSH! The fries were amazing! Served with a garlic aioli, covered lavishly in garlic - We were thrilled. The brussel sprouts were yummy as well, but it's hard to compete with the garlic fries. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We'd love to go back next time we're in CA and have more time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place if you have one place to visit while at Manhattan Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Went there during the pumpkin racing weekend. The restaurant is contemporary and has a nice view of the beach. We ordered marguritas and pizzas. The drinks were very good. We ordered three pizzas. The breakfast and the prosciutto pizzas were excellent. Recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand House also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to The Strand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.