We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Affordable Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fishbar Manhattan Beach Seafood Restaurant

Fishbar Manhattan Beach Seafood Restaurant
3801 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3130
310-796-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hermosa Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Affordable Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Even with a party of eight and the service was great! The seafood is fresh and correctly prepared! What a great place for a casual night out! Great Happy Hour!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    57
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau Bay, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

On a recent trip to LA I visited this restraunt with a friend. Neither of us were locals, so we used some online reviews to help us choose our dinner destination. This place was amazing! We both had cocktails, my friend had a margarita which she raved about and I had the "porto" sort of their spin on a mai tai. It was excellent. We had the fried calamari as an appitizer which was very tasty and then I had the grilled salmon with spinach and sweet potato fries for my entree. It was cooked well, was a generous portion and the frieds were amazing! My friend had the shirmp and scallops on a skewer and said they were out of this world! We both loved the place, which as we pulled up outside we were unsure of. The outward apperance does not match the interior or experience at all. Don't be scared of it's rough exterior, give it a try!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Must Try !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Highly recommend . One of those places that you can't judge a book by it's cover... outside not so much ... but inside wow ! And the food and service is wonderful !!! Worth the drive .

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Affordable, Unpretentious and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Was staying in Hollywood on business and couldn't imagine being in Cali without seeing the beach and grabbing some fresh seafood, so ventured out to Manhattan Beach and Fishbar after reading reviews. It was exactly what I was hoping for. Affordable, unpretentious, good vibe and fresh seafood. I had a cup of the chowder (YUM) and blackened mahi mahi tacos (on special for Taco Tuesday) along with a glass of their house brew which was like a honey blonde and very good. The bartender/server was very friendly and as were the other patrons at the bar. Definitely seemed like a locals spot. Parked in a garage across the street with meters so make sure and take quarters.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Seafood Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We loved this place so much we went there 3 times in a week. It was walking distance from our VRBO (which we also loved), the people who work there are cheerful/helpful and the seafood was delicious. Our first visit was for happy hour (which is 3-6pm Monday through Friday) where we enjoyed $1.50 oysters and $3 beer. They also have a host of other food specials to try. Next we went for dinner where Brittany (our server) gave us the best recommendations. I highly recommend the bread, clam chowder, grilled lobster tacos and 50/50 (clams and green lip mussels in a mouthwatering sauce). On Sunday they have pitchers of mimosas for $15. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. Give it a try... you won't regret it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbar Manhattan Beach Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Fishbar Manhattan Beach Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishbar Manhattan Beach Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.