We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Campground, but not as dog friendly as you think” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Beach KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manchester Beach KOA
44300 Kinney Road, Manchester, CA 95459   |  
Hotel amenities
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Campground, but not as dog friendly as you think”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a nice campground. The pitches are spacious, the staff are friendly enough and the restrooms are clean. However, after all the advertising regarding a dog friendly campground, we were disappointed when we arrived as the first thing we were told is that you CANNOT take your dog on their beach or on their trails... ?.... Maybe we are naive first time dog owners but this disappointed us to know that if we wanted to visit a beach in the area we were going to have to get in the car EVERY time - we chose this campsite because we thought we would be able to walk everywhere. This was NOT the case. The campsite was also very noisy waking the children at 5:30am in the morning due to all the abalone fisherman getting up, slamming car doors and talking loudly without any consideration for other campers. It's a good campsite if you want that location, but it is not a good campsite for people who like to set up their rig and trek to their destinations with their dog.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Terrace, Cali
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

This is a quant place out of the way of the noisey work place and traffic. Walking distance to the ocean, with serene views...
Everyone there was very friendly and pleasent.
the Restrooms were clean as well as the Kabins.
Lots of beautiful trees and nice walking paths around the park as well as away from the park, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We ended up reserving a spot here due a mistake booking at the Russian Gulch. Unpleased that we weren't going to the Gulch, we weren't expecting much. Boy, were we surprised. Yes, it looked a little busy when we first arrived, kids on rented bikes, packed swimming pool, an arcade??? and tons of motor homes. But, after finding a spot to park, we proceeded to the general store to pay for our reserved tent site. The ladies behind the desk to very friendly. Our site was as far away from the motor homes as possilbe (perfect!). Our site, tent site 79, was quiet but almost no sun. I was freezing at high 50's degree evenings. The campground has a great community setting complete with common sink/kitchen area, fire pit, planned events including a popular karaoke saturday night. Over all, we enjoyed it and will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This campground is on the ruggedly gorgeous northern California coast. The camp itself has walking paths down to a driftwood-strewn sandy beach approximately 1/4 mile away. The staff is very helpful and many evening activities are planned for the family. Every night we were there they offered an ice cream social and a family-oriented movie. Our older kids (12 and 8) really enjoyed riding the rental recumbent bikes. Just a few miles away is the lighthouse at Point Arena. A must-see for our family! The kids really enjoyed climbing the 115-ft. tower. A one-hour stunning drive north takes you to the Point Cabrillo lighthouse just north of Mendocino.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We have now officially become KOA addicted....It is funny because our first KOA Manchester Beach experiance was totally non-planned, due to an accident involving our trailer. But since our first time to now our 3rd year the time spent here has been great! The manager is fun and takes great care in making the visiters feels very welcomed. The pool and spa keeps are kids busy which allows us some quality time. The game room is equally appreciated especially if the weather is bad we can spend a few quarters and have some fun times. With the beaches and trails a stones-throw from your cabin you cannot ask for much more....Enjoy. --- Vic

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz,Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

I loved staying here.....I did miss the ice cream socials listed and the other amenities that are apparently not open in the winter though. The office is only open until 6, so if you arrive after, they leave your key. Someone stole our firewood in our fire pit, and there were only 3 other people staying there!!! So if you buy firewood, put it away or in your car. The showers were very clean and the campground was too. Walk down to the beach in the morning to see the sunrise...just follow the path. It was breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This KOA is big and popular, but it is run excellently and is very clean.
We were there over a busy summer weekend, and the managers told us great places and beaches to go to.
In the late afternoon they had ice cream social, with great ice cream.

  • Liked — proximity to Mendocino proper and close to beach
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manchester Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Beach KOA

Address: 44300 Kinney Road, Manchester, CA 95459
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Manchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Manchester
Also Known As:
Manchester Beach Koa Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester Beach KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manchester Beach KOA to your Saves list