We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Malibu Inn on the beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malibu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Malibu Inn on the beach
Save
You added Casa Malibu Inn on the beach to your Saves list
22752 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90265 (Malibu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Huntington Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Casa Malibu was everything we hoped for. A beautiful room right on the ocean.
Proprietors were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and up to date. We will defintley be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    53
    20
    15
    14
See reviews for
41
109
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

One of the best locations on the planet, IMHO

My wife's only complaint was the surf breaking under the room during the night "Can they turn down the waves at night???" It was heavy surf and only one night; the rest of the time, WOW!

Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The hotel seems not to have been updated in a long time. (Quaint is another word for outdated.) As long as you are not on peak nights, Malibu Beach Inn is much nicer for about the same price. On peak nights, Casa Malibu is much cheaper (and it should be). On the plus side, the owners are very nice and it has a nice family feel. In general, it seems that Malibu has adjusted to in-town hotel prices with far fewer services. You are paying for being on the water and hearing the surf. (If you are a light sleeper, the surf will keep you awake at Casa Malibu.) If you do not care about being on the water, stay in town...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Casa Malibu exceeded our expectations. This year I've been to Athens, Crete, Rome, Munich, Las Vegas, D.C., etc. This was among the best stays. ON THE SAND at Malibu. Inexpensive (when you calibrate it to Malibu standards, its a bargain). Unusually clean.

Don't be deceived by its street appearance! It appears to be a small beachfront apartment building built in the late 40's and converted to a motel. Because it is. I especially like the neon "No Vacancy" sign. But it is a great boutique hotel now. The room we were in appeared to be newly remodeled.

It is the perfect place to go when you just want the phone not to ring, and you want to feel a million miles away from everything. No pool, no restaurant, just little bungalows or rooms, and the sound of the surf crashing. About 50 feet from your back deck.

Quaint in the best meaning of the word. It takes you back to a time when all hotels weren't carbon-copies of each other. You sign in on a visitor card, and you have a real key for your room; not a credit card to slide through a slot. The beds are apparently new and extremely comfortable; linens very nice, the furniture attractive, new and expensive. Still, it has an almost rustic feel to it. This is more of a bed and breakfast than a business hotel.

The icing on the cake is that the staff is absolutely wonderful, and very friendly. If you want a trendy glass and concrete hotel with a valet, go down a few hundred yards to the Malibu Beach Inn (but bring a lot more money, and read their reviews first.)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

We agree with dw1981's review and can't think of much more to add, this is a gorgeous little hotel and it's location right on the ocean and right in Malibu can't be beat. You definitely have to stay in an ocean front room to get the full fabulous experience: it's like a dream listening to the waves crash right in front of your balcony, there's really nothing like it. The rooms are cozy, we always stay in one particular room that has a kind of "shabby chic" decor that we love, it's so comfy and relaxing. We would have given it 5 stars but can only give 4 because the only pitfall to the hotel is the managers, Richard and Joan. Unfortunately, they always seem to be stand-offish and cold to us (we have no idea why because we're really friendly and always get along with other guests). From talking to other reviewers on Tripadvisor they agree that the 2 managers here seem to pick and choose who they want to be nice to, it's odd. It's too bad that they can't be nice to everyone, being cold and sometimes blatantly rude to certain guests with no just cause is totally uncalled for. But don't let this put you off: our recommendations if you stay here are: (1) definitely get an ocean front room, you will never regret it and you'll never want to leave! (2) if Richard and Joan aren't friendly just avoid them, don't let them ruin your beautiful stay because this hotel is to die for, (3) bring an adjustable security bar to put in the bottom of the sliding glass doors that go onto the balcony: the ocean rooms are at ground level and the sliding doors aren't very secure when you're sleeping (better to be safe no matter what city/country you stay in), and (4) bring a car, and try to bring a mid-size or small car because as has been mentioned parking is tight! But it's free (which is great!), and you definitely need a car to enjoy Malibu, Santa Monica and all the other spectacular beach cities. Plus Sunset Blvd is very close to Malibu (it ends at the ocean): just turn left off the PCH onto Sunset and it takes you right into Hollywood, which really isn't even far from Malibu (never did understand why celebs say Malibu is "far" from Hollywood and downtown L.A., it's not, just avoid the 101 freeway because of traffic and it's also often best to avoid the number 10 freeway). Most important of all: ENJOY MALIBU, IT'S FABULOUS.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I have stayed at Casa Malibu many times over the past 8 years. I just love it here. For a hotel right on PCH, it's surprisingly peaceful. I love staying in one of the ocean front rooms, which feel like your own vacation home instead of a hotel. It's so nice falling asleep and waking up to the crashing waves. It is definitely no-frills, but a simple, easy hotel. Rooms differ greatly though, so have them describe the room in detail so you have a better idea what you're getting into. The courtyard is nice, quiet place for reading or visiting, and you're right on the beach if you want to go for a dip or walk up and down the coast. Parking is a little tight at times but I've parked there with a Ford Excursion so it's manageable! THis is an unassuming, friendly, quiet hotel that I have returned to over and over.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Well, after a hectic business trip in Santa Monica, we spent two nights at Casa Malibu to relax. It also happened to be my boyfriend's birthday so we were hoping for a special time, and we weren't disappointed.

We thought this was just the most charming place on the stretch, with a beautiful courtyard covered with flowers where you can sit in the sun with your morning coffee, and its own little private beach. Within walking distance of the Malibu Pier and the Adamson House, Casa Malibu was far nicer than any of the other inns we saw, especially a more expensive one a few doors down. Its comfortable rooms have character, are clean and quiet, and have the most gorgeous views. The decor is 50s meets 70s but with modern amenities and nice linen. We felt a little bit like we were in a Raymond Chandler novel!

Casa Malibu was a central base from which to explore Malibu Beach proper and Paradise Cove etc. There's no restaurant, but good-quality room service from long-standing Malibu institution the Marmalade Cafe. We liked the friendly proprietors Joan and Richard, who were kind enough to call and book brunch for us at Geoffrey's up the coast on our last day there.

We plan to return very soon, and would unreservedly recommend Casa Malibu to anyone who wants a charming stay in old-time Malibu.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Malibu Inn on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Malibu Inn on the beach

Address: 22752 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90265
Location: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA MALIBU Inn on the beach is a small, intimate and relaxing resort inn on a private beach in the heart of Malibu. For more than sixty years, guests from across America and around the world have been coming to Casa Malibu to enjoy the quiet, restful charm, private white sandy beach, the beautiful blue Pacific Ocean and spectacular sunsets and sunrises. Just twenty-one rooms and suites, the inn features Beachfront, OceanView and GardenView accommodations, and offers a complimentary light Continental Breakfast each morning, highspeed wireless internet, and free covered parking. Kitchens and fireplaces available. Casa Malibu is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Malibu Inn On The Beach Hotel Malibu
Casa Hotel Malibu
Casa Malibu Hotel
Casa Malibu Inn Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Malibu Inn on the beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.