We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping right on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornhill Broome Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malibu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornhill Broome Campground
9000 W. Pacific Coast Highway, Point Mugu State Park, Malibu, CA 90265   |  
Hotel amenities
Lehi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Camping right on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed one night here during our coastline trip. This is the only campground where we were actually able to put our tent right on the beach next to the water. The sound of the ocean was amazing during the night. We layed in our tent with the door open and watched dolphins and seals swimming right in front of us!

We ended up staying in sight #60 because it was more secluded. Beware of high tide in #60 and #61, though. We didn't put up our tent until the tide went down, but it definitely washed out our sight (ankle deep)! Spot #60 has a fire pit, but #61 does not. You are able to buy firewood there from the camp host for around $7 per bundle.

The lower spots (1-47) were more sandy, the higher spots (48-66) were more rocky, but also more private. There were trees and shrubs to block the wind and give you more privacy. In this campground, there are porta-potties and no showers. Overall, we loved it and would come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went Tent Camping. Our family had a great time check out the video.
http://animoto.com/play/leeeXCwbfzp8V1XWzPw8Jg

Thornhill Broome Here you are actually camping "on the sand". The awesome sound of waves crashing is so intense sometimes that it drowns out the sound of highway traffic.
The eastern sites, 1 - 47 have 50' parking spots (most all), a table (sometimes useless) and a firepit (also sometimes useless) so bring your own. The lower the number of the site, the better, in terms of beach condition. The lower sites are further from the gate but are less rocky. The western sites 48 - 68 are smaller and rockier but sites 58 - 66 have shrubs for windbreak and privacy, though they lack an ocean view. You park parallel in all spots and there is two way traffic on the one lane road, with a turnaround at the end. There is a water faucet every 4-5 spots and chemical toilets with dumpsters and recycle bins every 10 or so spots. These are kept fairly clean, but sometimes they can get a little messy on busy weekends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at #28. Saw many pods of dolphins and a sea lion swim by. Sunset is my favorite part of the day! Great place to RV camp but too primitive to tent camp. Love camping right on the beach! We woke up to the sound of waves and saw waves crashing. It is also nice to walk north under PCH and into the park to go hiking.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've been exploring beach camping for a while, and this is by far the most "true to form". The tent was pitched in front of some brush just a couple meters from the water. The crashing waves blessed us with an amazing night's sleep. Things are pretty bare-bones here as far as showers and toilets are concerned, but who cares?! Getting dirty is what its all about.

Went with a couple friends during a swell, and even so, the beach is sandy bottomed and approachable. In fact, the water was so clear that you could sit on a board and see directly under you. Amazing! Lots of dolphins and seals floated around directly in front of us.

For out-of-towners, September and October are probably the best months to camp on a windy point. Its a good idea to check the wind report before you go. Some sort of shelter in between the bushes is recommended since there aren't any trees/shade. If you go during the week? Its pretty much all yours!

Firewood is sold on site. People come by the grab the recycling, so separate your trash and put it by the dumpster. Neptune's Net has ice, beer and other treats nearby.

Overall? This is my new favorite camping spot. We plan on returning ASAP!

Room Tip: Bring a tent and camp in the brush area. RV parking is also available on the north side of the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I liked the campsite because it was on the beach. It was very windy during the day but much better at night. The port o potties got really nasty overnight. We could not go in the water if we didn't want to drown from the strong currents. Nobody was in the water. There was a seal that hung out near our campsite for most of the day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have only been beach camping a few places further north, but Thornhill Broome was perfect! Lots of dolphin and seal sightings. The water was surprisingly cold considering we have had such a hot month, but that didn't keep the boys from swimming around a bit. I believe there is one shower for the whole campsite, but you're at the beach, so it's not needed.

All in all I highly recommend this campsite if you want amazing views and sand between your toes at all times! I can't wait to come back next year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I camped one night at Thornhill Broome Campground with a couple of friends. We had a blast. Within the first ten minutes of arrival we saw some dolphins swimming not too far from our campsite. This place is great if you want to spend a night by the sea, our tent was about 15 feet from the waves. You can also go swimming, but it gets a little tricky to cross a border of rocks that separate the camp site from waves.
There are some things to know about this site. It's mostly meant fo RV camping. There are no showers or bathrooms, but they do have porta- potties (they even had a handicap one as well). Each campsite has at least one table with benches, and a fire pit and grill. If you're willing to take a short drive you can also go to another campground called Sycamore Grove about 2 miles south on PCH that has some really nice trails to walk on (no dogs allowed at these trails, but ok at Thornhill site).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thornhill Broome Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Broome Campground

Address: 9000 W. Pacific Coast Highway, Point Mugu State Park, Malibu, CA 90265
Location: United States > California > Malibu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty lodging in Malibu
Also Known As:
Thornhill Broome Campground Hotel Malibu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornhill Broome Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thornhill Broome Campground to your Saves list