We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vistas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topanga State Beach

Topanga State Beach
18700 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90265
310-394-3266
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 29 attractions in Malibu
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice vistas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was foggy but what a beautiful area. Nice vista, surf and good vibes. Great mountains to drive in close by. A So Cal staple and a must visit when in L.A. area

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Abundant, affordable parking with decent bathrooms. This is a great place to watch sufers, enjoy the breeze. Far away from the city but close enough to be accessible. Away from the crowds of the Santa Monica Pier and the cost of Malibu. After a nice day at the beach, you can take a long scenic drive through Topanga Canyon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,071 reviews 1,071 reviews
751 attraction reviews
Reviews in 301 cities Reviews in 301 cities
759 helpful votes 759 helpful votes
“Great sunsets, surfing and swimming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stopped by to see the sunset as it is one of the few beaches where the sun sets over the ocean this time of year. the wind surfers were out in force and the sun set was awesome. A small beach, but free parking on the roadside. A little less crowded than other beaches as we found parking easily. Go for the sunsets as it is a great view reflecting off the water.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Great little beach with strong surf, nice views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Love this little beach. My twin bro and I used to hang here after hiking the park. He used to chase me around with the seaweed that washes up on the shore. My brother is gone now. When I went back a few years ago there were two pieces of seaweed shaped like a heart! A message from beyond! So I have always loved this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A quiet beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited late on a sunny Saturday and the beach had surfers and families, but still was peaceful. The shores are a bit rocky, so beware when wading. The beach offers great views of the Los Angeles area. We saw pelicans diving for their food which was rather entertaining. Parking was free on the side of the road, but there is also parking on site for a small fee. Topango State Beach is a short and lovely drive from Los Angeles, and was devoid of the freak shows found on some of the other beaches.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topanga State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Topanga State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topanga State Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Topanga State Beach to your Saves list