We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see, for film buffs especially!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malibu Pier

Malibu Pier
23000 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Attractions in Malibu
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Bangor Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Must see, for film buffs especially!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are a fan of Forrest Gump, this is somewhere you really must visit. Malibu pier is where Forrest stops running and turns round to go home again. Cool place to visit, we went here on a tour so had limited time but still enjoyed it and it was great to say I have followed in Forrest's footsteps. Restaurant was closed when we were there and had been for a while so may be a good ideal to bring food with you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    58
    36
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The drive from woodland hills was beautiful. We loved just watching the surfers. Park just before the actual pier parking it was only $3.or on the street for free. We ate dinner at Dukes which was good food,a bit on the pricy side for what it was. But really enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This place has a little of everything. IT has rides, bars, entertainment, great food every single corner you turn. Fantastic place to spen the day or evening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss the opportunity...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went out on this pier twice on our visit to Malibu. It was nice to be able to go out on the ocean and not have to take a boat. There were two pelicans that greeted us. They just sat there and let people take their picture with them. We love to view nature and the outdoors. There is a gift shop at the end of the pier that has really unique gifts and souvenirs. It is different than the normal souvenirs that you see everywhere you go. The restaurant/café was not open. It was under construction. I think it will be much nicer when that is up and running. People were fishing from the pier and it was just a nice way to enjoy the ocean. We recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spot for bird watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I loved walking here in the early morning hours with my husband. We were fortunate to see a rare Arctic loon last January. The shop at the end of the pier has great gifts. Well worth the walk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malibu Pier also viewed

 

Been to Malibu Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibu Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.