We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, very pretty views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar

Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar
6506 Westward Beach Road, Malibu Country Inn, Malibu, CA 90265 (Formerly The Hideaway Cafe)
310-457-2602
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 83 Restaurants in Malibu
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, very pretty views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Kristys has a lovely view of the ocean as it is located on a large cliff.
Good selection of local wines which we enjoyed. The soup of the day was gazpacho which was scrumptious and the tomatoes had a "just picked" flavor
The restaurant is a quiet oasis away from the crowds of Malibu.
The service was prompt and friendly

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good food and good service. We ate dinner here twice and breakfast once while on business. I was happy with the quality of food and service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
“Great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved our visit to Kristy's! It began with such a nice welcome from the owner and continued with friendly service and excellent food! It was chilly outside so we sat inside but the patio looked lovely. Everything our party of four ordered was delicious - especially the scallop pizza which was recommended by a friendly busboy when my son asked him his favorite! The owner stopped by a few times to check on us which was very nice. I would have given five stars had one order ( ahi tuna which hardly needs cooking) not come out about 4 min after the other three. However when it arrived, it was delicious! I highly recommend Kristy's!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Return visit to Kristy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had such a good lunch there last winter, we decided to take our son and return. The service was exceptional and food did not disappoint. We had the cream of squash soup and it was wonderful. The Caesar salad and apple bacon salads were both good but believed we like the apple bacon the best. The lemon dressing was just the right touch. Everything was served piping hot and the fish and chips were delicious. The batter on the fish was light and not heavy and greasy. I had the day's special pasta, steak with jalapeno and it was wonderful. The water and soft drink glasses were refilled frequently. Service was attentive. View superb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You have to try this place if in Malibu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the experience of dining at Kristy's. Sat outside for lunch and it was lovely. Up high, nice views. I loved the ambiance,
And the service was excellent. The owner stopped by our table just to see if we were enjoying our meal. Classic fare, often with subtle twists that make the ordinary seem special. Come here and enjoy the food, surroundings and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.