We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of many great meals from the TS restaurant group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes Malibu

Dukes Malibu
21150 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5219
310-317-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dukes Malibu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in Malibu
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Las Flores Canyon
Transit: MTA has a bus stop 100 yards down PCH
Description: DUKE'S MALIBU has brought the excitement of Hawaii, Waikiki, and surfing to the mainland USA. The spectacular oceanfront location on the Pacific Coast Highway offers over 300 feet of romantic oceanfront dining and memorabilia from both Hawaii and California surfing history. The Barefoot Bar, looking south into the lights of Santa Monica, is a great spot for drinks and casual food with friends.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of many great meals from the TS restaurant group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The TS restaurants I have been to (del mar CA, all hawaii locations,lake tahoe) all have a fabulous view of the ocean or in the case of Sunnyside in Lake Tahoe-the lake. This was my first visit to Dukes in Malibu and it did not disappoint. We saw at least 3 different pods of dolphins pass less than 100 yards away. Had the opo (Hawaiian fish) which was fresh and perfectly cooked. Save room for dessert because the Hula pie should not be missed-though it usually takes 2 people to get through 1 slice.

Make reservations on the weekend. Valet parking very reasonable-$4.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    177
    59
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Solid lunch on PCH trip(s)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stopped here 3 different occasions when heading from LA/Santa Monica up PCH. Always busy, seems to be a mix of tourists and some locals. Bar is a good option to drink and eat and watch the Pacific. Once in awhile you will spot dolphins while imbibing.

I seem to always get the fish tacos and they are always good.

Last here Oct 2012

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Aloha spirit and great food would make Duke proud!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hubby and I finally found Dukes on our way home from Santa Monica to Thousand Oaks. Wanted to have a fun, not-too-touristy lunch and Dukes was the place! Discovered that Duke's is part of the Duke's chain of Hawaiian restaurants (we loved the Hula Grill Barefoot Bar in Maui) and they seem to have imported the Aloha vibe into Malibu.

The view here is killer. Over the ocean -- every table has a view. Service was laid-back friendly in a professional way. Really nice. They specialize in grilled fish and you can order it however you like it. Fun that they have some Hawaiian fish like Opah on their menu and they have California specialities as well. Not into fish? They have burgers, salads, tacos . . if you are familiar with the Island's chain, you'll get the menu. Duke's is a higher class with the same fun spirit. They have the legendary Hula Barefoot Bar (alas, without sand) that appears to have Hula entertainment at some hour of some day.

Total pluses: Valet parking (of course, it's Malibu) costs $3 for lunch, $4 for dinner. Dukes is located right at the Las Flores stoplight off PCH -- if you drive PCH you know how cool it is to have a dedicated stop light turn lane into and out of a restaurant. Pricing is extremely friendly for lunch (didn't see the dinner menu) $8-$16 for everything. Yummy warm sourdough rolls while you wait. Full bar menu and giant windows that open to the Pacific. Also, another huge plus in our family -- the portions are not huge! We hate to waste half a lunch/dinner and then be advised "but you can take it home". The plates are sized for eating your food and remembering it after you leave.

Cute surfing decor. They take reservations. The weekday we walked in for lunch we were seated immediately with not wait and no reservation. Maybe a fluke, just reporting. I would absolutely recommend this place to take out of towners to avoid the hugely touristy (and pricier) Gladstone's and Geoffrey's. Looks like they have a private ocean view dining room for larger group special occasions. Will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great view and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

we stopped by on our way to LA. Food was lovely, amazing fish with really lovely salads
right next to the ocean

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“I don't agree with the many 5-star ratings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Having been to Geoffrey's some years back, and intending to go again this trip, we decided on Dukes instead, due to it's higher rating on Tripadvisor. Wow, talk about apples and oranges. Dukes was ok, but there was nothing above average about it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dukes Malibu also viewed

 

Been to Dukes Malibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes Malibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.