We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Chow

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mr. Chow
3835 Cross Creek Road 18A, Malibu Country Mart, Malibu, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr. Chow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 85 Restaurants in Malibu
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Mr. Chow in Malibu is such a great spot to start your weekend! The food was Excellent! The service was 5 star! The Duck was amazing! All the food was great! I will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A lovely, sleek, all white contemporary space houses this very busy Chinese restaurant boasting a multitude of well-heeled patrons, some with famous faces. However, even with no reservation we were seated within about 30 minutes on a very busy Saturday evening.

We found both the service, though a tad hurried, and the food were both excellent. We loved everything we ordered. I thought their take on several common Chinese dishes was inspired and delicious. We ordered a mix of small plates and entrees: easy and fun to share.

The price point is fairly high and you'll be more comfortable if you dress in your snappiest casual outfit. It's not dressy as in formal, but it is upscale. And, make a reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
“Best Place Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had doubts at first due to reading the negative comments made by other reviewers, but i decided to go regardless and I am thankful I did. This is by far one of the best restaurant experiences I have ever had, the food was phenomenal, the service was impeccable, everything I could have wanted was accomplished and more. To anyone who negatively depicted this restaurant, I must say...I disagree

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Mr. Chow in Malibu took over the old Nobu location (Nobu moved to a new site on the water). Years ago I had been to a Mr. Chow in NYC. The environment was okay (all white), the service was good but the food was over priced and not special. I'm a local resident and won't return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Huh? What just happened?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I were in Malibu with some friends and decided to head to Mr Chow's. We have been to the restaurant in Beverly Hills and we know that the reputation is for a great meal and excellent service......

Well, the meal was very good......

But the service was extremely confusing. A simple request for more of their hot sauce was met with "we cannot give you more hot sauce---Mr Chow, rules." What?

Zachary was the waiter---maybe he was having a bad day, maybe terrible. Anyhow, i have no need for another visit.

There are so many places to experience in Malibu, no reason to risk one on Mr Chow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mr. Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Chow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.