We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really depends what you're looking for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cove Beach Cafe

Paradise Cove Beach Cafe
28128 Pacific Coast Hwy, Frnt, Malibu, CA 90265-3927
310-457-9791
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Paradise Cove Beach Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 81 restaurants in Malibu
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Paradise Cove Rd.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really depends what you're looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is typical seashore food - wide arrange of seafood, plus burgers, fries, other items. The emphasis is on quantity, not quality. Nothing I had here was particularly flavorful. And everything was pricey. My dinner was disappointing, and I wouldn't go back.

However, the setting is beautiful. The restaurant is literally on the beach, and it has a lot of outdoor seating at pleasant tables and chairs, literally on and in the sand. And it's a nice beach. Although I wouldn't go back for dinner, if I were going to the beach for a few hours, this spot would be great. Grab a spot on the beach, spread out, and literally 50 feet away is this restaurant with great beach drinks, shrimp cocktail, calamari, whatever you'd like to snack on.

So, you and your honey looking for a few nice hours in the sun? Go here. Then go grab a shower and go someplace else for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    165
    150
    76
    25
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, sit outside and stick your feet in the sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We sat outside and were surprised to see that you are eating on the beach! We kicked off our shoes and enjoyed our breakfast barefoot. The macadamia nut coconut pancakes were good and so was the cinnamon French toast. Besides the food, the best part of the restaurant is sitting outside by the water. I wouldn't say the restaurant itself is beautiful, but it's in a beautiful location. And don't forget to validate your parking so you pay $6 instead of $30!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I went to this restaurant during a trip on a Saturday. We were leary about the parking charge, but it was well worth it. The restaurant has a great atmosphere. The waitress was helpful on menu choices. The amount of food provided was more than enough. We shared a bowl of clam chowder which was huge and very good. We also shared one of the fish sandwiches which was also very good. We ate inside of the restaurant instead of on the beach. The window seat was fun with the ocean and people views. All meals we saw going past us were very substantial. If in the area, we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must go to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A few friends recommended this restaurant, so we thought we'd try it whilst on holiday.

We grabbed a drink at the bar first until our vibrating lobster told us that our table was ready.

Our table was outside, which is great because you have your feet in the sand.

Our waiter was very good and friendly. At first we ordered the calamari and prawn cocktail to start and then the Parmesan encrusted halibut and the fish taco for main. Thanks to the waiter he actually advised us that we'd ordered too much food, so we forwent the calamari. Firstly it's a rarity that people will say this and normally they just let you buy the food.

The food was excellent and there was definitely no room for the calamari!

We had virgin pineapple cocktails, which came in a pineapple, which were delicious.

I'd definitely recommend this one and would be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Seafood Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were a bit put off with the parking situation, which can get very expensive. Even with a validation from the restaurant, we had to pay $6. (It used to be $3 with validation). I'd visit more often if it weren't such a parking hassle.

However the food and the atmosphere more than make up it. We ordered the Iced Seafood Sampler for $24.95. The two of us couldn't finish it! It would make a great appetizer for four people, lol. Picture this, a large dish is piled high with jumbo shrimp, a giant fresh water prawn, Ahi sashimi poke, house smoked salmon, Bay Scallop ceviche, marinated calamari and mussels... all sitting on a bed of ice. We had already shared an amazing BBQ Chicken Salad, with sliced chicken breast, candied walnuts, blue cheese and a divine balsamic vinaigrette.
We ended up packing some of our seafood to go and they even provided us with some ice!

Yes, the tables and chairs sit directly on the sand, with big umbrellas and a gentle ocean breeze. Our server was very gracious and even took our photo.

After lunch, we headed south on the beach. There were very few people in this direction and we watched pelicans diving into the ocean and coming up with a fish.

We kept close tabs on the time and made it back within the four hour limit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Cove Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Cove Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cove Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.