We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunset

The Sunset
6800 Westward Beach Road, Malibu, CA 90265
310-589-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sunset is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 81 restaurants in Malibu
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: PCH
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Can be casual or more upscale. Can be quiet or noisy. Always has the magnificent view of the ocean from your table. I had fish and chips - the best I've eaten in ages along with calamari to start - also excellent. Service was good too. If you want to feel secluded and romantic, ask for a table by the window upstairs. The bar is downstairs, and by 7:30 it is a zoo. My companion had jadori chicken and liked it a lot. I would go back there in a minute. Looks a bit shabby on the outside, but the food is top notch. Prices can be high moderate or very reasonable depending on what you order. They even have a burger. Valet parking only, but reasonable. Very fun place. They have live music too. Don't let getting there deter you. It is worth it - at the end of a long road front the beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    34
    37
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed a meal for two at the Sunset Malibu as well as watching a wedding in progress across the narrow street directly on the beach. The view of the ocean at Westward Beach is certainly a draw for this restaurant but not so close or so present as to be a main event. The service was attentive but slow and the food which is moderately expensive for Malibu, in other words expensive for most areas, was better than many other beach restaurants in the area, if generally smaller in portion size. Overall the feel of the restaurant is casual with less than average posturing of the patrons and a more beachy feel, it can get very crowded at the times you might expect, sunset, summer weekends and holidays but they do have valet parking which is a great feature at this "free beach" in Malibu; overall a good destination restaurant for both locals and for those visiting LA.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Local Hang with Superb California Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This off the beaten track local hang is right on the sand. It reminds me of Cheers when I walk inside with a great ocean view bar. They have everything you could possibly want to drink. It is an excellent place to meet people! The food is better than excellent and the specials, meat or fish, special! The upstairs dinning room is small so reservations are a must!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Sunset recently changed to a bistro menu with great success. The food is still very good, high standard, and the prices have dropped. Whatever you choose on the menu, anything from light fare to the steaks and ribs is done to perfection. They do not make a fuss about substitutions and the wait staff is ready with wine suggestions. last week I had the lamb chops served on a wonderful wild rice risotto.The chops were prepared French style with a rich wine sauce. They were superb. The week prior I had the Bouillabaisse in a rich and spicy saffron broth loaded with seafood and fish. Oh Yum.
The wait staff is excellent and very attentive.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well named”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

In spite of recent poor reviews, I took my family of 4 here for a 8 PM dinner. I thought it was fine. Arrived at 7:30, bar staff was very nice and attentive. We sat before 8PM. Did not have the best seat to see the sunset but still had a wonderful view of the ocean. I has scotich salmon which was average. My wife had the muscles that were not that great. My daugher had the fillet of beef. Which I tried and it was fantastic . My other daughter had the bologinase which was fine. Apps and salads were fresh and good.overall this place was one to come back to. About as good as you will do in malibu. They made a mistake and brought the wrong entree out to my daughter and gave us a free desert. Was not nececcary but I like when places show a little respect. The flour less chocolate cake was outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.