We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahi tuna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reel Inn

Reel Inn
18661 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265
(310) 456-8221
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 83 Restaurants in Malibu
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Missouri City, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ahi tuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended to us and we almost turned back. We were staying near the base at Port Huenme and drove the coast for 45 minutes for this spot. My husband found the fish taco to be excellent and my ahi Tuna salad with wasabi dressing was amazing! It was worth the trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    54
    26
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“fresh seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Small parking lot, valet only. If you don't want valet, you have to find street parking, and be careful crossing the busy highway.

You order your seafood at the window, and pick up when your name gets called. Fish seems fresh, and chowder isn't bad. Price is not cheap though, especially for a shack, and little service.

It's nice to try once, but not sure we'll go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun place to stop for good seafood off of HWY 101”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

There are not many choices for good seafood in Santa Monica but if you drive towards Malibu there are several little restaurants that serve fresh fish. This restaurant was recommended to us by a local and it was a great choice. The food was good and the outdoor seating was very nice. It was also very affordable. I would recommend it to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Fun atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We saw this restaurant on Man vs. Food, and planned our route so that we could eat a meal here. The food is great, and such a great variety of seafood to choose from. We also liked all the ways each item could be prepared. We really enjoyed the outdoor seating and casual vibe. The view of the ocean was great. We didn't have to wait long for our food. If was definitely worth the stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

FRESH, LOCAL and Great outdoor seating. The Reel In is where the locals will go for a daily catch of fresh fish, seasoned and cooked to perfection. The outdoor seating is nice, affordable and pleasant. It's my favorite in malibu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reel Inn also viewed

 

Been to Reel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.