We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reel Inn

Reel Inn
18661 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265
(310) 456-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 85 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Topanga, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

FRESH, LOCAL and Great outdoor seating. The Reel In is where the locals will go for a daily catch of fresh fish, seasoned and cooked to perfection. The outdoor seating is nice, affordable and pleasant. It's my favorite in malibu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    65
    30
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A taste of authentic California! Don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We came here twice on a road trip along the Pacific Coast Highway and both times it rocked! It is is full of locals and regulars not just tourists.
Take your pick of the super fresh fish. I would recommend the fried shrimp and recommend you avoid the fried calimari (too much batter!)
The best thing about this place is the garden outside where you can chill out and enjoy the yummy food.
You'd be crazy to miss this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were there for "Taco Tuesday" - two fish tacos. The best ever! This is a great place to visit after playng on the beach. You can sit inside, or outside on the patio. The atmosphere is definitely Californa Beach Casual. While we didn't have to wait, I could easily see a line on Friday or Saturday. We got our food quickly. It was fresh and inexpensive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“must miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

the fish looked old. the place wasn't clean...and sure we
like a fish shack as much as anyone else...but who could find the fish stacked on sides that fell over the dish? the scallops must have been frozen, they smelled of chemicals and
I couldn't eat them.
for forty two dollars a couple...you could do much better along

will add it might be an easy stop for families but
ask if anything is really fresh?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach sc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just great fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The fish at the reel inn is to die for,it is always fresh and cooked to perfection,it is one of the best deals in Malibu,I make it a stop on every trip I make to the LA area

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reel Inn also viewed

 

Been to Reel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.