We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot on Pacific Highway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geoffrey's

Geoffrey's
27400 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90265
(310) 457-1519
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Geoffrey's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in Malibu
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2 miles south of Kanan canyon, 4 miles north of Malibu canyon
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top spot on Pacific Highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stopped for lunch at Geoffrey's Malibu late December. With the temperature reaching high 70's and the views overlooking Malibu and LA Geoffrey's is a no brained for a great lunch. Same goes for dinner by the way.
Valet parking is the most convenient option as parking along the pacific highway can be tricky. This comes at a cost of $10.
Once seated the views are amazing, one of the big draw cards of Geoffrey's. The menu is also good and offers a great variety to please anyone. We ordered lobster quiche and salmon. Presentation and taste of both meals was fantastic.

Besides good food, views and great service eating at Geoffrey's is an experience. Expect to pay around the $100 for two including tips. Not for everyones budget I must admit but we enjoyed every second of it.
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    114
    37
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Favorite LA County Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Each year my wife and I make a point to visit southern California (from the East Coast) and make a point of having lunch at Geoffrey's. Picture a 75 degree cloudless LA sky and a seat overlooking the Pacific. Then add terrific seafood - hard to have a better dining experience - anywhere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasileia, AC
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“It's all about the romance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

In any normal city I'd give this place 4.5 - 5 stars, but this is L.A. so you have to consider that the competition for your dining dollars is fierce! Geoffrey's is excellent, but I can't honestly say that the food, or service is really that much better than the best. What I can say is that the entire experience is top notch and you will not be disappointed.

For your best experience, make Geoffrey's a romantic dinner place. Reserve the crows nest which is a small dining area all to itself located well above the patrons below. The view from the crow's nest is spectacular and your only regret will be watching the wait staff shuffle up and down the numerous stairs as they attend to your needs -- but then again that's what tips are for.

Enjoy a fantastic dining experience and don't forget the roses, or the diamond!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Once Great Restaurant Hits Rock Bottom”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 7.30 on Nov 21 to be greeted by blank expressions and much studying of the computer screen whilst we stood in the cold. They had no knowledge of our booking despite the fact that they had actually telephoned us to confirm it earlier in the day. We were eventually shown to a small bar size table which was ridiculous as we were a party of five. We asked why this table as there were approximately fifty other empty tables in the restaurant. They only served four tables during the whole evening. We were then shown to the adjacent table which was correctly sized for our party. No tables were laid up in the entire restaurant. They then started to lay the table whilst we were trying to entertain our guests. We asked why we didn't have a tablecloth as the only other party in the restaurant at the time did. We were told they only allow table cloths for parties of six and over. Incredible! After we offered to pay the laundry they provide a cloth which resulted in them stripping the table and then relaying it again whilst we were still trying to entertain our guests. This farce lasted ten minutes and we still hadn't been offered a drink service. When the food eventually arrived one of the guests was so appalled at the lack of freshness of the fish and the cold vegetables that it was sent straight back to the kitchen. The chicken dish also had a cold, bitter tasting vegetable. The caesar salad was declared just ok and the salmon very nice. When questioned about dessert the waiter recommended the vanilla bean ice cream which he said tasted of vanilla and baked beans. I'm not sure if this was an attempt at humour or in fact true, either way we declined the recommendation and asked for the check. On presenting it they didn't charge for the fish or the caesar salad which we though was only fair. They then apologised, claiming a mistake and presented a second bill with the caesar salad back on. A total farce! As we left the restaurant there was no one on reception to wish us a good night as all the staff were leaning on the bar busy chatting. Never again! They didn't charge for the tablecloth.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Malibu style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a must-visit restaurant in L.A. area. Geoffries is famous for freshest seafood and fish. And you should try all of it! I was lucky to be in a big company and we shared lots of things but even coming there for the second and the third time will offer pleasant surprises. The menu is extensive and you can pick anything you can imagine. The selection of wine is also decent, lots of Californian brands that are worth getting aquainted with.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geoffrey's also viewed

 

Been to Geoffrey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geoffrey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.