We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malibu Family Wines

Malibu Family Wines
32111 Mulholland Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265
818 889 0120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Activities in Malibu
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Call it Southern California in a bottle. Our vineyards are nestled deep in Malibu's Santa Monica mountains on the exquisite 1,000-acre Saddlerock Ranch Estate within our own Saddle Rock-Malibu AVA. Discover hints of the bounty and beauty that are pure Malibu. Savor it for yourself – Malibu Family Wines, the toast of Southern California. OUR WINESWe proudly produce Semler and Saddlerock wines.WINE TASTINGVisit our tasting room located across from Saddlerock Ranch at 31800 Mulholland Highway, Malibu, California 90265.818-865-0605,Open Wed-Sun 11am-6pm.WINE CLUBWe invite you to experience Malibu Family Wines as a member of our Semler Estate or Saddlerock Ranch Wine Clubs.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is in a great location, and it is so beautiful. You can taste wine while you enjoy the view of the Santa Monica mountains. We picked up some sandwiches and stuff to take with us, which was a good thing. There were a lot of people around but it was a great experience. We each bought a bottle to take with us to enjoy later.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't forget to bring your food!It's so important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Malibu wines is an awesome place to spend an weekend afternoon. It's best to come with a big group,but you can enjoy with your partner too. There is no food except some biscuit and nuts,so bring your cheese and what you like with wine.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Highlight of Malibu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My family has belonged to the Malibu Wines wine club since 2005. It is fantastic. The tasting room is a stunningly beautiful location in the Santa Monica Mountains. We love bringing a picnic, doing a tasting and buying a few bottles to enjoy. Weekends tend to be a bit crowded, especially when there is live music, so it is best to get there early. Week days are better as there are far less people. The wine is great and the staff is knowledgeable. Definitely one of my favorite places in the area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I have been to Malibu Family Wines a few times. Each time was better than the last. We have always met new people as it is very crowded on the weekends so we end up sharing our table with those who ask. I really enjoy that part of the experience. We end up sharing our food, wine, pictures, stories. It is in a gorgeous area and the music makes the whole experience very relaxing. I get to spend time with my husband. Yes, it does get very crowded, that is part of it. We know that going there and manage to get around just fine. Parking can be a hassle as the parking lot is kind of small so we parked along the Hwy which was just fine. It's great to have this place just a few freeway exits away.
We'll be back :-)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Longer a Fan...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Used to love this place. Was a member for years. Beautiful setting, ambience, and entertainment. Then the crowds hit and the place became a zoo. Not only are there typically no tables available, but there's no grass available either... which means you can't even walk along a path without climbing over other patrons. And I've heard the valet has become horrific as well, losing keys and damaging cars... It's a shame when wonderful things get out of hand...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malibu Family Wines also viewed

 

Been to Malibu Family Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibu Family Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.