We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love On The Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Malibu Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love On The Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean with a large bathroom, fireplace and balcony. I enjoyed an afternoon walk down the beach to Malibu Pier and made good use of the hotels complimentary towels. Took my evening meal and numerous cocktails on the restaurant balcony/patio, watching the sun set and the waves crash over the rocks beneath me. Turn down service in the room was impressive, the fire was roaring, robes and boxes of chocolates had been laid on the beds and the lighting had been dimmed. Malibu Beach Inn, you romantic devil!

Room Tip: Room Tip: Start saving for your next visit on the day you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing a romantic getaway with us! We're pleased to hear that you had an opportunity to spend some time on the beach and delight in dinner and drinks at Carbon Beach Club. We know that distance makes the heart grow fonder, but we hope you'll be back soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    75
    19
    19
    17
See reviews for
48
152
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have stayed here several time for a "retreat" or really as a "treat", and have always felt welcome. The rooms are beautiful, bed is so comfy that you will get a wonderful night's sleep and the sound of the ocean at night is so calming. The staff is very friendly and they remember to call you by name. They will help with any travel or sightseeing plans. The breakfast on the patio is a must......overlooking the ocean first thing in the morning is a great way to start the day, followed by a walk along the beach...it is very easy access. The pier is making a comeback and is only a short walk away. Many things are within walking distance, but retreiving the car is very easy...just call ahead and it is ready to leave. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel....

Room Tip: Ocean views are spectacular, but if you plan to leave the patio door open, you will probably hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Malibu Beach Inn! We're so happy that you enjoy staying with us when you're in Malibu, and we're so grateful for your continued support. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another reTREAT soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Arrived early and my room was ready, check in was quick and bags delivered promptly. My room was HUGE with a king size bed and separate lounge area, a cosy fireplace and large balcony with the most amazing views of Malibu pier and beach. It's the little extras that really make this hotel special. My room had an i-pad and free wii fi. The lobby/reception area free cookies, water and coffee and also bowls of fruit which are also available on each floor. The evening turndown including chocolates, 2 bottles of water and the staff will even setup your coffee machine for you and make you a coffee while you sit in bed! I also received a free voucher for tea/coffee to use in the morning and was happy to see a copy of The Australian on the mat. I slept like a baby every night snuggled up in the most amazing bed listening to the sound of waves. With everything on your doorstep you can walk to the pier cafe for breakfast, Malibu country mart is a 10-15 minute walk and you must try Nobu for lunch/dinner. The staff at the hotel were amazing, very friendly and made my stay unforgettable. A couple of days here you will leave refreshed and relaxed. Trust me, you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We’re so grateful that you had an opportunity to enjoy everything that we have to offer, and we're delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your time. It always makes our day to read such a wonderful review as yours! We look forward to welcoming you back for your next oceanfront vacation! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were looking to celebrate our first year anniversary which was a Monday and what a great get away we had this beautiful boutique hotel with world class amenities and not too far from the city but eons away from the stress. Staff is amazing, food is perfect, check in and out a breeze, we haven't used the spa but it looked just beautiful to be able to get aaa sage with ocean crashing waves few feet away and this was amazing feeling to celebrate our union with peace and beauty enveloping us. Highly recommend and we will keep coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for celebrating your anniversary with us! We're so happy to hear that you had a peaceful, enjoyable time. We'd love to welcome you back any time you're in need of another relaxing getaway! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I love my escapes from Beverly Hills to Malibu . I truly enjoy the perfect location of this place . The sunset is the most beautiful there / it is very relaxing place and really beautiful . The directly access to the beach is very important to me . I love walking on the beach and taking some sun . The dinning , the small bar , the restaurant are wonderful at The Malibu Beach Inn. I appreciate a great service there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks so much for choosing Malibu Beach Inn for your seaside escapes! We're so glad to hear that you enjoy our location and everything it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Love the experience and the weekend retreat was just fantastic! From the room the view and amenities it felt like you so fr from the hassle of Los Angeles. The restaurant and staff where fantastic and he view was just stunning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for spending your weekend with us at the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on the coast. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another retreat in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a small hotel with a big view. We loved every moment spent here and it is what made our trip to Malibu so very special. We celebrated my birthday here with a week-long stay and we were not disappointed. The Malibu Beach Inn went out of their way and surprised us with a room that read "happy birthday" on the outside and a decadent dessert on our coffee table. The ocean front rooms will spoil you. I didn't know how I was going to sleep without the waves crashing onto the rocks below at night. In the mornings we sat on our balcony and watched dolphins swimming and we even got to see a sea lion. The rooms fireplace is perfect for the chilly California nights. But, probably one of my favorite things was the shower... I loved how it was glass that ran almost all the way up to the ceiling that helped keep in the steam from the hot water. That paired with the amazing Molten Brown bath products makes it a treat for sure! Every afternoon through the evening there are chocolate chip cookies. And every morning you awake to coffee, hot tea, a breakfast bread and fruit. As well as your local newspaper and a daily newsletter of the happenings around the Inn. We got the breakfast package and enjoyed every meal at The Carbon Beach Club. The service was the best we had in Malibu. We throughly enjoyed our stay here and are already planning on when to come back.

Tips: The hotel has beach towels that you can check out when visiting the beach. It's walking distance to Surfrider beach and the Malibu Pier has a cute restaurant for breakfast and lunch. This hotel does not have gym on-site, but they do offer a day pass at a gym across PCH. We were able to find amble parking right in front of the hotel off PCH most of the time and didn't need to valet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibuBeachInn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for celebrating your special day with us! We arre truly delighted to read your very kind feedback. We're so happy to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you even got to "meet" some of our friendly Malibu wildlife...what a treat! We are so grateful for your continued support, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another oceanfront getaway in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malibu Beach Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibu Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;