We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Inn on ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Malibu Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Malibu
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Top notch Inn on ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Elegant little (44) room inn with excellent food, small but beautifully appointed rooms with balconies right on the ocean. Lovely to walk on the sand. A/C which is so wonderful in each room. A happening place too. Lots of young people and visitors from far and near. Very expensive, but you get what you pay for. Service is excellent in all ways. Lovely getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. No pool or fitness center, but there is a gym across the street for $20 a day. Valet parking only which I think is $35 a day. The coean is the draw here. All the other hotels in Santa Monica are not right on the ocean. This one is.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with the exception of the king corner rooms - slightly larger, but not enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted that you chose to stay with us, and we're so grateful to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. Your feedback is so very much appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    67
    19
    18
    17
See reviews for
44
144
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Malibu Beach Inn was outstanding. My boyfriend booked this hotel as a treat for us for 2 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday this summer in California.
The rooms are fantastic with balconies over looking beautiful views of the Pacific. The sound of the waves can be heard from your bed, it was very soothing.

The restaurant onsite offered excellent breakfasts and lunches at very affordable prices overlooking the sea. It was very romantic and we even saw whales while having breakfast one morning.

I would recommend that if you are looking to stay in Malibu, this hotel should be your chosen one.

Room Tip: Seafront Rooms are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We're absolutely delighted that your stay was outstanding, and we're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the waves and the view from your room and Carbon Beach Club too! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I went down to Cail for our anniversary. This hotel has such an amazing location. Amazing outdoor dining on the deck. Almost feels like you are on a boat. Amazing food both at dinner and breakfast. Only sad thing was we only had one night there. We'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was going to be in the LA area for 2 nights on business. I did not want to stay in all of the LA congestion so I found the Malibu Beach Inn online. Let me say first there are a lot of things to like about this place. It is located convenient enough to the airport and LA without having to deal with major traffic. The rooms were decorated well, but the real plus was being literally feet from the water. I enjoyed the sounds of the ocean while having a glass of wine in front of the in room fireplace. The beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. I was personally shown to my room and offered any assistance needed. I did order room service three times and the food was well prepared. I am however conflicted to if I would stay here again or not.

Here were the downsides I found. The Malibu Beach Inn will nickel and dime you to death for everything. The rooms are filled with water, soft drinks, snacks, and a well stocked bar. You will pay well inflated prices for all of it. Even the bathrooms contained a lot of “for purchase” items such as sun block and lotions. Most higher end hotels offer these complimentary. The rooms while nice do need a little TLC in areas. It is obvious that with all exterior entry rooms, the Malibu Beach Inn used to be a standard possibly low in motel. Their renovation has done wonders for this but being able to hear traffic from your room does not help you to forget. I found a deal on a room rate when booking. I think had I paid their full site price I would have been very let down. I understand this Inn is trying to cater to a high end feel … they are just not quite there yet to justify high rates. Would I stay again? Maybe for the right deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to LA. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed so many things about the property - the location, the view, the service, the food, and more - but we're also sorry to hear that a couple of areas didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your constructive feedback and suggestions, and we do hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The view fom the room was AMAZING! It simply could not have been a better choice. This is really why we booked and we were not disappointed. However... Having to pay $27 a night for parking is unbelievable for a hotel of this quality and expense.

The room was lovely, quiet, and well appointed (although a few too many highly priced drinks/suntan lotion/first aid kit dotted around the room). Ditch the parking fees and the $6 orangina next to the bed and it's perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiam for our property! We're so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please note that parking is available at no charge along the PCH and we hear from many guests that nearby spots are frequently open. We truly appreciate your support and your kind and generous feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Our entire family got rooms at the Malibu Beach Inn since we were attending a Wedding right in Malibu. Since I was part of the bridal party I spent a lot of time at the best suite in the facility... It was just gorgeous!!! Spacious, well decorated and the best view of Malibu. The Inn is also a great hang out place since they have one of LA best restaurants in the premises. Well, price is high but if you are looking for a real California experience, this is it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Malibu Beach Inn! We're delighted that you and your family chose to stay with us, and we're so grateful to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. Your glowing feedback is so very much appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Really very disappointing. They charged for EVERYTHING extra in the room such as the bottled water and various snacks. The furniture was tired and worn rattan (frayed). Our room was directly over the restaurant; needless to say we were kept awake until the restaurant closed. Mind you, all of this wouldn't have mattered had we not been paying $1200. per night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We’re sorry to hear that your stay at our property didn’t meet your expectations. We always do our best to ensure the rooms are well-maintained and that our guests have a wonderful experience. We consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we utilize the comments to improve in the areas that we can. Should you wish to stay with us again, please reach out to us in advance so we can help you find the perfect room for your needs and ensure your experience is a pleasant one. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your feedback. Thank you, The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malibu Beach Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibu Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.