We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see if you are in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Getty Villa

The Getty Villa
17985 Pacific Coast Highway, Pacific Palisades, Malibu, CA 90272
(310) 440-7300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to the art of the ancient Greeks, Romans and other classic civilizations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must see if you are in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our final stop on our way back to LAX for the flight back to Europe. Most enjoyable though a little OTT in places.Access from The Pacific Highway requires careful planning and LOW speed or you will miss it!
Only a short drive to LAX when finished.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    174
    40
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Escape to Rome from the heart of LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a beautiful Roman style villa near Malibu beach housing gorgeous art collections and a beautiful garden.

The location is fantastic and although you don't get many ocean views you can definitely feel that seaside 'vibe'. The centre is designed to imitate approaching an archaeological site and you don't see the villa unless you're right upon it, which is quite clever.

The artwork on the lower level focuses on ancient Greek and Roman artefacts, which are going to be a lot more beautiful and fascinating than you'd think!, whilst the upper level houses some more modern pieces, including works by Rothko and Dali.

I can spent the whole day there and stay wanting more.

It's just a beautiful piece of architecture in a wonderful setting... and then you can leave when it closes at 5 and head to catch the sunset at Topanga beach! Heaven.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Pick me, pick me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The last time i was in Los Angeles, I went to the Getty Centre but this time, I went to the Getty Villa and enjoyed this a lot more as it was more focussed on the Roman civilisation. Beautiful gardens and so many interesting paintings and photos.

The Fall of Pompeii exhibition was on and was very impressive. A great way to spand a few hours in Los Angeles.

On-lin reservations are essential but was easy enough to get the day before. A beautiful drive there too!

There's no entry fee but a $15 charge for parking

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband & I visited the Villa after seeing the Getty Centre. A reservation is required as you visit only with scheduled appointment (the attendant at the Centre took care of the reservations for us). Was not crowded as it appears only so many people can visit at once. Unfortunately the sea fog moved in and we lost our views but the Villa is beautiful. Gorgeous gardens and architecture.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beauty Everywhere You Look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Fabulous collection and beautiful grounds. The staff went above and beyond and gave a terrific tour. Lovely way to spend the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Getty Villa also viewed

 

Been to The Getty Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Getty Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.