We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Madera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Madera to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Madera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1219 East Almond Avenue, Madera, CA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Madera
Antioch, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed one night at this fabulous hotel while visiting family for the Easter Holiday. We booked through a third party site and got a good rate for this hotel. The first thing I noticed upon arrival is the decor. The lobby, breakfast area, and check-in counter had very modern decor. The check-in counter was round, there were teal colored sheer drapes separating the lobby area/breakfast area, etc. Very beautiful but a little out of place out in the middle of nowhere Madera. Check-in went smoothly however, we were told that our room was two queen beds instead of one king. Being as we used a third party to book this room at a discount rate and that it was only one night, we were ok with that. However, the room was actually two double beds; not queens. Again, no worries. We didn't bother trying to upgrade or change rooms as our time in the room would be limited.

The room itself was decorated in the same color scheme as the lobby; teals, cremes, modern appointments. The room was divided into sections, office and sitting area; kitchenette ; and the bedroom area. This was very smartly done. There was plenty of lighting in each area and there was a small balcony off the bedroom. Our room was overlooking the freeway and pool area; however, with the balcony door closed you could not hear any freeway noise. The weather was beautiful so we chose to open the balcony door as we are used to freeway/traffic noise and it doesn't bother us.

The layout of the room is kind of narrow with the walkway between the beds and the wall being pretty close. Also, the vanity was separate from the toilet/tub which was convenient, however, if someone is in the vanity area putting on make-up and others are coming in and out of the toilet area, its almost impossible without constantly moving out the way. Again, this was ok for a short period of time but if we were there more than one night, it problem would have become been an issue for us.

The kitchenette was equipped with a microwave and mini fridge. The office contained a desk with plenty of plugs, modem connections, etc. There was free wifi throughout the room which was nice. The sitting area contained a small sectional that was comfortable. The bathroom contained nice products and a hair dryer. The beds were comfortable and there was a large flat screen tv in the room that could be adjusted for viewing in the bedroom and the sitting room.

The room included a free hot breakfast in the morning and coffee/tea/water free throughout the day. The breakfast was nice; it included fresh waffles, eggs, sausage, oatmeal and the usual cold cereals, bagels, etc.

The parking was free and the hotel was conveniently located right off the freeway. There is a Black Bear diner located right next to the hotel. Black Bear is a nice family restaurant and is a great resource for meals.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Ebwhyte,
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our property. I am glad you enjoyed our fresh and modern decor an our location was to your liking as well. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are traveling to the Central Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
27
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotel staff was really nice and the rooms are very clean. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Vjose,
Thank you for the great comment on Trip Advisor. We too feel our property is one of the best kept secrets in th whole darned area! You COULD pay more for a hotel in the Fresno area, but with our spacious rooms, terrific breakfast and friendly staff..... Why would you?

Thank you again. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Springhill (mini) Suites exceeded all our expectations, despite being located in the middle of nowhere. For a one night stay on a Wednesday night, in the middle of a long drive, it provided everything we needed. The rooms are cleverly designed, being divided into 3 areas:
1) bedroom with large screen TV and very good lighting
2) bathroom with toilet and tub separated from the sink and makeup area.
3) sitting area with wet bar and business desk. The TV can be turned to face this area.
The staff were professional and friendly; the whole place was spotlessly clean; the Black Bear Diner across the parking lot was excellent. Best of all, we paid only $60 on Priceline and that included parking, superb hot breakfast, and WiFi in the room. What's not to like? Springhill hotels are way better than the Best Westerns and Holiday Inns that line most major highways. Our visit to this hotel proved once again that the best places to stay for one-nighters on a long trip are in small towns or in bedroom communities on the outskirts of large cities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Ronlk,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the layout of our rooms. The design of the Springhill Suites rooms is what sets us apart from the traditional hotel room.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations once again on your next trip through our great state.

Most Sincerely,

Deanne Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I just completed a stay at this Springhill Suites in Madera. This is a fairly new hotel and is really nice and clean. The suites are somewhat small but good enough for one maybe two people. There is a Black Bear diner just next door which has excellent food and they give you plenty of it. Other than that there isn’t anything within walking distance. The hotel has a small but very nice complimentary breakfast and coffee in the morning.
For what it’s worth, I did feel my bed shake a little while the train went rolling by and this hotel is next to the freeway as well. The Vineyard restaurant within a couple of miles would be a good choice for dinner. I would stay here again if I were in the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the freeway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatmd, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Madera, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear GHB2,
Thank you for your review of our property. I am certainly glad our breakfast buffet met your needs. Springhill Suites as a brand has been working hard to meet the nutritional needs of our guests. As you mentioned, our property is fairly new. We are celebrating our third birthday this month! And, we have had the pleasure of meeting and serving thousands of guests during this time.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit to Madera, CA.

Most Sincerely,

Deanne Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois or Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I've been in many hotels in the US; and I always complain about the poor and boring room furnishing/design in most hotel rooms. This Marriot hotel at Madera, CA is THE FIRST HOTEL where I can say that the room designers used more than two neurons to think of a functional design, they did it with the guest in mind. The room I stayed in had a divider screen between the desk and the beds, which allows for someone to work late at the desk while those who want to sleep can have privacy and light isolation. Also the beds had small overhead reading lamps installed!!, how hard could that be for other hotel managers to think of?? Finally the couch/sofa-bed is a corner style (L-shaped) sofa bed, much more comfortable and functional than a classic monolithic, "bump in the way" sofa. In addition, all the room lamps had a design with soft white shade that really illuminates the room, rather than those standard yellowish screens that are rather depressing (probably good if you are sick or have migraines). A minor thing that still can be improved (this is the same in most hotels) and extra waste basket in the room would be handy. These guys did have two in the room which is a WOW factor. Just for originality and thinking out of the box I give this facility an Excellent.

The hotel facilities are good quality, there is cold water and coffee close to the lobby most of the day, the breakfast is standard-good. The black bear diner next door is great. The staff was very friendly and corteous.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I travel a lot and this hotel does it all for the value. It's the nicest hotel in the area and has the staff to make your stay great. The hotel represent the Marriot and the Madera SpringHills Suites represents high standards I've seen all over the country. It's your best choice for the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilbert, az
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed one night...new property, staff very friendly, room excellent, quiet, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast very good, we observed they kept the breakfast area clean and well stocked as folks would come and go. No complaints! Will stay here again on next trip up. Easy access on/off 99, Black Bear resturant just past parking lot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Madera

Address: 1219 East Almond Avenue, Madera, CA
Location: United States > California > Madera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Madera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Madera 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Madera Hotel Madera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Madera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.