We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is Spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Lodge at Kananaskis

Save Saved
You added Delta Lodge at Kananaskis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Lodge at Kananaskis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Centennial Road, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location is Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Look, the Delta Lodge is a little run-down but who cares when you can wake up and see the mountains outside your window and walk around the area and see spectacular views and wild animals? Rooms are outdated as is the overall hotel but visiting here is well-worth it. Meals and wine are pricey, breakfasts especially. Staff are very helpful and aim to make your stay enjoyable. We stayed 2 days but would plan to stay longer if we were doing it again as there is much to see in the area: hiking, canoeing, etc. and taking a drive out to Canmore and Banff. Relaxing ambience and location!

Room Tip: Ask for "a room with a view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us. I wanted to let you know that we expect to have guest room renovations to our Signature Club building completed in early August. The remaining two buildings, the Lodge and Mount Kidd Manor, will also undergo guest room renovations over the next couple of years and we are very excited to be able to show the finished product to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    176
    69
    31
    14
See reviews for
172
156
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This Delta Lodge is in a perfect location. The scenery is unbelievably beautiful with majestic mountains and rivers all around. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is a great pool and an inside/outside hot tub. The meals were all marvelous even though I rated the buffet breakfast as 'okay' as it did not meet the standards of many other top end restaurants. Regarding the costs, there is a Destination Marketing fee, a Provincial Tourism Levy, G.S.T. , internet fee and an indoor parking fee that have to be considered. The first three fees are mandatory while the latter two are discretionary. The only complaint I would have about the lodge is the noise from people in the hallways depending on its location. The first night there were groups talking outside our room just after midnight and then again waking us up at 2:00 a.m.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

I am happy to hear that, for the most part, you enjoyed staying with us. I am sorry that you experienced some noise during your first night and wanted to mention for future reference that you can call our Front Desk or Guest Services to report noise concerns; our Security Team will be notified to investigate and resolve any problems.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our week stay at the Signature Club was very relaxing. I had never stayed at the Signature Club, but have stayed at the Delta Lodge a couple times. All the staff at the hotel and spa go out of their way to be friendly. We had the breakfast and appetizers incuded in our package.
Gilbert, William, Matt and all the staff working the Signature club are so friendly. Our floor is currently having major renovations, but we informed daily if the water would be shut off, each day for the inconvenience a giant chocolate bar appeared in our room along with turn down service of chocolates and water in the evening. Had a Facial in the spa, Brittney did a great job. Beds are comfortable, our room had two queen beds, work desk, large TV, I can imagine the renovated rooms will be very nice! We used the pool and hottubs, The pool is huge which is nice, The hotel and grounds very clean. We rode our bikes a couple of times from the hotel to Wedge Pond, Walked the Rim trail and RELAXED. The other tourists we met visiting from around the world all seemed to be having a great time.
We will definitely be back and book the Signature Club again. thanks for the relaxing stay.

Room Tip: This is a nice resort to visit if you want to relax, bike or hike in the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit with us.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your first stay in the Signature Club building and had an entertaining and relaxing time.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We drove out from Calgary and spent the day at the Summit Spa in the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis. The drive was scenic and less than an hour; we enjoyed our timmie's coffee and view during our drive. Parking was ample and signage to the Lodge was easy to follow.

Once at the spa, we were greeted by the staff and estheticians and began our day. Our group enjoyed relaxing massages, enbrightenment facials, chocolate and champagne body wraps and Caribbean hand treatments. The Summit Spa uses Avenda procedures and products and it is exactly what you would expect from any Aveda spa. The staff were friendly, well trained and accommodating. The pricing for the treatments are comparable to other Aveda spas.

In between treatments we enjoyed a small lunch at the Bighorn Lounge. The food was delicious and prepared perfectly. The atmosphere relaxed and informal; the mountain views were spectacular!

We absolutely enjoyed our day and look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Spa Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

It sounds like a wonderful way to spend time with family! We are thrilled that you found it to be a relaxing and rejuvenating day.

We would be happy to have the opportunity to welcome you for another spa day the next time you are in the area!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our group stayed at the Mount Kidd Lodge for a management retreat. Rooms are a good size with a comfortable bed, exceptional housekeeping standard as at all Delta Hotels. Only caution is that the rooms are not air conditioned. Because you are in the mountains it does cool off at night but on hot days the rooms get warm, especially during the day. The hotel does have mobile fans in the rooms to help. Of course the location of the hotel is in a resort setting with all the pluses of nearby golf courses, mountain views, hiking trail systems etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your recent visit with us to TripAdvisor.

It is great to know that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope you might have the chance to visit again when you have more time to explore some of the outdoor activities in the area!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Location, Location, Location! The hotel is a very clean hotel in an excellent location. The service is top notch in the hotel and the staff seem to care about their guests. The food in the hotel has declined but otherwise this is a great and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My first impression of the resort was that it looked beautiful from the outside. Check in was quick and smooth, and Julie at the front desk was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. She also noticed we were celebrating a birthday, and gave us complimentary valet parking.

Our room was in the Mount Kidd Manor building, and it wasn't quite what I had expected for a Delta. I've stayed at the property in Banff numerous times, and booked in Kananaskis based on my fantastic experiences in Banff. The building, and the room were definitely a bit outdated. Our screen door was so old, and stuck, you had to pull it open with a bit of force. As well, there was no air conditioning in the room (which is my own fault for not asking). Our room was also extremely dusty. The light which was above the vanity in the washroom area had dust clumps which almost looked like they were stuck in cobwebs. When I looked underneath the vanity, there was a thick, long layer of dust where the carpet met the wall. We found a fan in the closet since there was no air conditioning, and plugged it in near the bed - once we turned it on, we could actually see the massive amounts of dust being blown around in the air. A bit gross. Aside from all of that, the bed was unbelievably comfortable!

We had dinner at Season's Steakhouse, and it was probably the highlight of our stay there! Absolutely amazing food, and amazing staff. They really knew their stuff, and were extremely accommodating to my severe food allergies.

The next morning when we went to check out, I noticed my complimentary valet parking had actually been charged to the bill, but the girl at the desk was quite fast to apologize and remove the charge. She called over to the valet, and had them grab my car for us. Once we left the hotel we drove to Canmore for some lunch, and realized once we got there that the valet had left a set of hotel master keys in one of the seats. I called the hotel and spoke to an agent, who said a manager would call me back in a few minutes. Two hours later and no one had called - which was a bit odd to me since I had a set of master keys in my hand (definitely a security problem). We called back, and asked to speak to a manager, who actually ended up being quite helpful. We drove over to the Casino near the hotel, and a valet met us there to retrieve the keys. In return, we got a $50 credit on our bill.

All in all, I don't think I would stay here again. I'd much rather stay at the property in Banff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Lodge at Kananaskis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Lodge at Kananaskis

Address: 1 Centennial Road, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#7 Family Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#9 Business Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kananaskis Country
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Lodge at Kananaskis 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Delta Lodge at Kananaskis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kananaskis Lodge
Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Hotel Kananaskis Village
Kananaskis Delta
Delta Kananaskis Village
Delta Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Kananaskis Lodge
Lodge At Kananaskis
Kananaskis Village Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.