We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls, expensive food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Lodge at Kananaskis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Lodge at Kananaskis to your Saves list
Delta Lodge at Kananaskis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Centennial Road, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paper thin walls, expensive food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

DO NOT STAY at this hotel. We booked a room in Mt Kidd Manor. There is no such thing as a good night's sleep. And don't expect any privacy. The walls are so thin, conversations can be clearly heard from adjacent rooms. You can hear your neighbors. They can hear you. And forget about sleeping if, as we experienced, your neighbors want to stay up all night. To their credit, the hotel swiftly responded to a complaint. It is not the fault of the neighbors. The problem is the hotel is constructed with no soundproofing between the rooms.

The food is very expensive, but as the rooms don't even have microwaves and the hotel is rather isolated, you're stuck with paying the cost.

We had noise issues during our last visit here in 2002. Apparently 11 years was not enough time to fix the problem.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor .

We want all of our guests to have a peaceful and relaxing respite from the every day hustle and are very sorry that you encountered noise challenges during your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration it caused you.

We appreciate that microwaves are often a valuable convenience for our guests while in-house. As such we have a substantial inventory that we lend out to our guests upon request. For your next stay, we suggest mentioning it at the time of reservation so that, providing we have sufficient inventory, we can ensure it is placed in your room for your visit. Microwaves are provided on a first come, first served basis.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    207
    77
    37
    15
See reviews for
207
174
8
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked this trip 6 weeks in advance, but still got given a room very far away and located above the parkade. It was old, worn and loud as you could hear people outside smoking and a lot of noise from the parkade. It was a ten minute walk to just get coffee. Upon arrival, we got no help with our bags to the room. No one even offered. The bathroom had no fan and the shower head was terrible (the plastic dial fell right off). There was black mold in the toilet. To top it all off the pool was closed that night due to an incident of a child pooping in the pool. There were kids in diapers in both the pool and hot tubs all weekend. We don't get to vacation for a weekend often, so it was sad to have poor conditions. Fro breakfast we went to the Fire weed Grill (I think) Coffee was 4.25 and juice was 4.00. The food was average and very expensive. The lounge on Sat. night had a very good entertainer and service was better. Although all around our table on the floor was crayons, dirty napkins and food bits. My martini was 13.50 They did have a drink special and it was nice to sit and relax. On a positive note, we did visit the spa and the service was excellent. It was clean, relaxing and the staff were top notch. Great massages and pedicure. All in all for nearly 1000.00 for two adults and two kids, that we spent to be there, I don't think we would stay there again. Expensive for the quality of room, food and lack of service when needed. Last year when we stayed, we had the best service! Valets right at the doors, a special gift pack for our dog and kids, and the desk staff were kind and accommodating. This year, it was a much different experience. Other than the spa and lounge. If you are going with your family...bring snacks! Bring coff

Room Tip: Try not to get any of the rooms above the parkade entrance. They are very far away from everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

I was sorry to hear that the location of your room was not satisfactory to you and your family. Rather than the time of booking a room, It is usually the room type that dictates where a guest room will be. However, depending on availability of the room type you wanted, we would have been pleased to arrange for a different room.

It was also disappointing to note that we did not have anyone from the Bell Team available to help you with your luggage upon checking in. We pride ourselves on our guest service and we obviously slipped in this circumstance.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced.

I was happy, however, that you enjoyed your Summit spa services and the entertainment / service in the Lounge.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you another time to show you that our great guest service is the norm.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent three days here over the Christmas holidays. Wonderful time. Every conceivable winter sport at your door stop. Some are free and others cost a minimal fee, IE: rental for skiis, skates, tobogans, etc. The indoor/outdoor whirlpool is amazing and the hotel also boasts a huge indoor pool. We thoroughly enjoyed the sleigh ride and would highly recommend it. If you have children there are planned activities for them to particpate in all day long. All in all a wonderful experience and one that we plan to enjoy again next Christmas.

Room Tip: I don't believe there could be a bad room in this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis; thank you. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your mini-vacation and have some great memories from your experiences here.

We would love to have you join us again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back another time!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have (in the past) stayed in the Delta Kananaskis for their Christmas package, 23rd to the 26th. It is wonderful, very festive, excellent food and a wonderful atmosphere for young and old alike. This year we decided to go on Dec. 27 and stay three nights. There were sixteen of us. Again, we had a marvelous time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. What I really love are the staff, always friendly and very helpful. There is something for every age to do, from skating, skiing, hiking, swimming, working out or just sitting in the hot tub. The only downside to this amazing holiday was that the hotel seemed to be very short staffed, especially the restaurants and lounges. We sometimes waited a long time to be served. Apart from that we love this place and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Iowa,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

We are thrilled that you and your family had a great time during your holiday stay and were able to participate in some of the activities we offer.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You might expect a post-Christmas weekend getaway in the mountains would allow for a quiet getaway. Not always so! The weekend of January 19 apparently coincided with a convention of financial planners who (based on the noise they made in the room hallways) don't get out very much --or don't know how to behave when they do! Their party spilled out into the hallways, even though they had a large common room on the convention floor. No one wanted to bring the party to their room, so they occupied the hallways. Sleeping was impossible for everyone else in the building. On Saturday we tried to forget our troubles in the spa, but we were advised that the spa staff was sick. So, no spa treatments. Nice steam. Nice meals. Had to go home to sleep!

Room Tip: The rooms in the Delta Privilege wing are superb. Not over the top, but real nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

I am very sorry to hear of the poor sleep you experienced during your visit and, to top it off, the lack of spa services at that time (due to provider illness) which compounded your disappointment. For future reference, please call Guest Services or the Front Desk with noise problems as our Security Team is usually very good at resolving disturbances like the one you described. Regardless, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and frustration you encountered.

If you would like to discuss it further, I would be pleased to have you call me directly at the hotel.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love staying here when we just want to get away from the city! Great during summer and winter. Family discounts and lots of fun activities. They even have their own skating rink outside!
Love the huge swimming pool and indoor/outdoor hot tub!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as some areas of the hotel can be noisey,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

The review posted of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis is appreciated; thank you for taking the time to submit it to TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We took our family to the Delta Kananaskis for the Family New Years Eve package Dec 30 - Jan 1 and there was some good, bad and kinda different.
Good
All staff we encountered were very kind, organized and efficient. They clearly have a great training program in place and were appropriately staffed for the holidays.
The programming for the three days was great. During the meals there was a variety of children's entertainment including a giant bouncy castle, photo booth, magicians, face painting and more. The recreational programming was also good, we enjoyed the GPS race and building snow forts. The managers reception was a nice touch with free chili/ seafood chowder and a beer/wine. We didn't have a chance to skate but their rinks looked really great.
Our room was very clean and the location in the main lodge was very convenient for the pool and restaurants. Beds were very comfortable.
Most of the patrons were young families and we met many really great people.
Bad
Our room in the main lodge was very dated. I viewed another room in the Mount Kidd building and it was much more modern and had a fireplace. I was not upset about not having a fireplace (safety hazard for my youngest), but I was surprised at the difference between the rooms.
The pool was SO cold!! The boiler must not have been working because the water was freezing and the air temperature was so cold. We lasted about 10 mins before leaving. However the pool was a good size (no slide).
Different
This is a dog friendly hotel, which is not unusual, but I have never seen so many dogs in a hotel ever! My allergies started the minute I walked in the lobby. There were dogs everywhere. I had a dog begging for our food while my family ate in the hotels cafe, dogs all over the furniture in the lobby, large dogs running through the lobby off-leash. It took away from the natural beauty of the resort to see dog droppings and yellow snow on the hotel outdoor pathways. Myself and others were yelling to the kids "don't play in the yellow snow!". Perhaps some doggy bags along the paths would encourage guests to pick up after their dogs. I called ahead to request an allergen free room and there was not one available. However they did a deeper clean of our room and thankfully I did not have any issue with allergens in the room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

I wanted to mention that we will commence guest room renovations in our Signature Club building this spring. The other two buildings, the Lodge and Mount Kidd Manor, will follow suit and we are very excited about the new rooms. In the mean time, we have implemented a comprehensive maintenance program to keep the guest rooms in good repair.

We are pleased to know that, overall, you and your family enjoyed staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Lodge at Kananaskis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Lodge at Kananaskis

Address: 1 Centennial Road, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#7 Family Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#10 Business Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kananaskis Country
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Lodge at Kananaskis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Delta Lodge at Kananaskis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kananaskis Lodge
Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Hotel Kananaskis Village
Kananaskis Delta
Delta Kananaskis Village
Delta Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Kananaskis Lodge
Lodge At Kananaskis
Kananaskis Village Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.