We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Ski Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Lodge at Kananaskis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Lodge at Kananaskis to your Saves list
Delta Lodge at Kananaskis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Centennial Road, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kananaskis Country
Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Ski Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel for the weekend. The hotel is nice, friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms. Very close to Nakiska for our kids ski camp. Only downside is that the food is very expensive and not really worth the money. The first night we had the buffet which was great for the kids but 38$ for adults and the prime rib had zero flavour. The next night e had the fillet mignon but I can get a much better steak dinner at the Keg for the same price! The indoor/outdoor hot tub was great but the indoor pool was COLD!!! I would stay at this hotel again but would still begrudge spending the money on the overpriced meals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

While it seems that most of your visit with us was enjoyable, it was disappointing to hear that your food experiences were not as good. Please accept our sincere apologies that the food was not to your liking. Your concerns with the flavour / quality of the buffet and fillet mignon have been discussed with our Executive Chef who is constantly making changes to our food offerings to better serve our guests and guest feedback, like yours, is invaluable to us.

Thank you, once again, for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    185
    70
    34
    14
See reviews for
180
167
7
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

For the last 6 years we have been staying 2 nights at the lodge in either November or December. This year we were able to stay in the Signature Club. The room was very "warm" and inviting with its real wood burning fireplace,living and dining areas,and super comfortable King sized bed. The Signature Club is a bit of a hike from the main Lodge , but they have an underground tunnel that allows you to avoid the weather and the need to bundle up . The complimentery breakfast in the Lobby is fantastic. You expect perhaps a bagle bar and juice , but this one has a multitude of grain and protein options.
We look forward to next years visit. Seeing a bull Elk casually strolling through the parking lot was an unexpected perk also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review to TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your 2 day sojourn into Kananaskis Country and your experience in the Signature Club.

We appreciate your return visits each year and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is not traditional hotel with single building; Delta Lodge @ Kananaskis is more like small resort. Uniquely located in valley this hotel is closest to Nakiska ski resort and close to Kananaskis Country Golf course.

You can stay in the main lodge, Signature Club or Mt Kidd Mannor. FYI, breakfast and snacks between 4 and 6 PM included in Signature Club category.

There are 4 restaurants and 1 pub onsite, so dining is not a problem there. Plus several gift shops on site. Property may be fully booked during holidays or special events like Ski Cross World Cup last week.
SPA, fitness, indoor pool, indoor/outdoor hot tub and sauna; not very hot sauna…

Staff is very welcome and friendly. Rooms are clean equipped with mini fridge and coffee maker. As well you can find bath robes inside, just bring your own sleepers to get to the pool.
Recently hotel improved there WiFi coverage.
If you want BOB – take care before you get to the property, other way you have to drive about 10km/6-7 miles south on Hwy 40; you will find gas station there as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear SergandTat,

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis to TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your general overview of our facilities and are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After reading some of the reviews here, I am going to provide some comments for my stay at this resort. I visited and stayed at this resort with a very large group on December 4-8, 2006. This resort is fantastic from the the staff who entertained us and helped us participate in outdoor activities, to the great food, the clean rooms and the resort grounds. There was snow on the ground when we went there and there was wildlife around the area-lots of photos taken by our group. A lot of the group played hockey every night at the outdoor ice rink. The large conference hall easily accomodated our large group. Most of us ate at the large buffets that the resort staff set up for us everyday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. As I stated above, the food was great with lots of choices everyday. The rooms are large, and were cleaned everyday with fresh towels, etc. The beds were very comfortable and slept great everynight. This is definity a great place for groups on business, for families any time of the year and great getaway for couples. The location with its beautiful scenery is fantastic and if it is possible, I will definitely be returning here in the future. I can see why this resort is rated as number 1.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear CountryPat3,

Thank you very much for taking a look at our various reviews on-line and then deciding to submit your own comments to TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to have been able to help create some great memories for you when you were here. As much as we learn from guests that face challenges when they are away from home, we benefit from knowing what offerings and services are working well too.

We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to another great experience with us!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I went here for business and I dont ski so I cant feedback on any of the conditions I am afraid, however the Olympic teams were in whilst I was there so it must be good!
The hotel itself is pretty dated, however it is a traditional ski lodge with warm friendly service. It is set in an idyllic spot with beautiful stunning mountain views.
The pool and gym are well equipped, although the pool is a little on the chilly side! But be brave as it is a lovely pool. They have an indoor and outdoor hot tub and sauna, if your feeling brave!
Food is ok, not the fastest service so relax and enjoy your meal. I can recommend the Salmon at Fireweed and at Grappa they will cook to order.
Lots of nice shops too.
The rooms as I said are dated but the beds are amazingly comfortable!

Room Tip: The loft rooms are pretty cool, they even have Jacuzzi rooms which have the jacuzzi in the bedroom!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear LodgieLodge2,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

As you noted, we have been hosting a number of ski teams in the past couple of weeks and the Nakiska Snow Down World Cup Ski Race was held last weekend. I've been told that the hill training and race conditions have been very good and it has been a pleasure for us to welcome skiers from all over the world.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and, to address your concern with the hotel being dated, I wanted to be sure to let you know that we are in the design / mock up stage of renewing our guest rooms. We are pretty excited about the new room plans and hope that our guests will be too!

It will be my pleasure to relay your kudos regarding the salmon entree you had in Fireweed Grill to our Chef and appreciate your remarks.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Kananaskis Country!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We were here for a company Christmas party, for the sixth year in a row. The hotel and service were fantastic as always. Definitely reccomend the Signature Club rooms as well as the Seasons Steakhouse.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed your company Christmas party with us, for the 6th year in a row!

Both Signature Club and Season's Steakhouse are favourites for many of our guests and we always appreciate hearing when we "get it right" as we are always striving to make our guests' experience with us both enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis for Year 7!

Kind Regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was a last minute decision in November 2011, to go spend Christmas at the Kananaskis Lodge. We took our 2 young daughters, 4 and 1 there for a 4 day/3 night stay. Let me break down out stay into the different categories :

1. Room : we got a Loft suite in the Mount Kidd Manor. It was roomy and well appointed, but we really would have been better off in a family suite with a seperate bedroom, so my husband can I could stay up later without having to whisper the whole time. The pull out sofa we slept on in the lilving room was not the most comfortable of beds, but pull outs pretty much never are. All in all, the room was nice, clean, and it was just as advertised. That being said, we just booked a stay for this coming Christmas, and got as family suite in the main lodge, and had already decided that we would not go if we couldn't get a family suite.

2. Food : We had 3 meals included with the package. All three were a buffet format. It was really good food, freshly prepared and a good variety each time. I've only had better buffet food at Fairmont properties, so I'd say it was above average food. There were carved meat stations, many warm and cold salads and side dishes. There was always a kids buffet, with pizza, fries, pasta and other kid friendly food. Many desserts to chose from as well. Each meal was accompanied by some sort of live music, which is nice. We ate most of our other meals at the "Fireweed Grill". Buffet style, it was good, but not spectacular food. I would try the other restaurants this time around.



3. Entertainment: There was a variety of family oriented activities. We participated in a few, including gingerbread house decorating, family movie night, and charoling, visits with the reindeer too! . For any activities that require you to live up to get supplies (first come first serve), I suggest you lline up at least 30 minutes before the start of the activity to ensure you get supplies. The activities are VERY popular, and I saw people lining up 20 minutes ahead of time and not get any supplies to participate. Same for movie night, they provide popcorn, but you have to be there early if you want some! The were plenty of activities to chose from every day, we sometimes couldn't make up our minds as to what we wanted to chose. You can tobbogan and skate, and there were many charolling opportunities, which were great. For the adults, the Manager's welcome cocktail party was TERRIFIC! Tons of drinks to chose from, all included in the price of your package, specialty coffees, cocktails, wine, beer...and desserts and appetizer type food. Live music too! This is not to be missed, and go early, to take full advantage! The main lodge lobby was also a nice place to hang out, have a glass of wine by the fireplace, the charollers were often in that spot, and it was a nice place to sit, let the kids colors/play, while the adults mingled.

4. Resort amenities and other bonuses : The pool/hottub were fun for the kids and adults too. It was never very busy, which is nice. We didn't have the chance to try out the spa, but have some treatments booked for our upcoming stay. The resort really has the main lodge as the central hub of activities, try to book in the main lodge if the rooms suit your needs. All areas and buildings outdoors were well maintained, and pretty 'up to date' , with a few imrprovements required here and there, but nothing major. The resort staff go the 'extra mile' to make your stay memorable, some of which are so sweet, I will not ruin the surprise for you.

All in all, a phenomenal stay for our family. Our kids did not want to leave, neither did we! We booked a 5 day/4 night stay this year!

Room Tip: Main lodge suite for family Christmas package, but other buildings if you want more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review! Thank you very much for taking the time to tell everyone on TripAdvisor about your Christmas adventure with us last year.

We are thrilled that you've chosen to return again this year and will do our best to ensure you have another "fantastic family Christmas"! As in years past, we have so many different things to offer our guests like daily Christmas themed crafts (which includes creating a "family gingerbread house" activity), carolers, live reindeer, skating parties, a family "Olympics", and so on. There usually isn't time to participate in everything!

We look forward to your arrival and want to thank you, once again, for providing your feedback.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Lodge at Kananaskis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Lodge at Kananaskis

Address: 1 Centennial Road, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#7 Family Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#9 Business Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kananaskis Country
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Lodge at Kananaskis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Delta Lodge at Kananaskis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kananaskis Lodge
Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Hotel Kananaskis Village
Kananaskis Delta
Delta Kananaskis Village
Delta Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Kananaskis Lodge
Lodge At Kananaskis
Kananaskis Village Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.