We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel, but awful Signature Club Staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Lodge at Kananaskis

Save Saved
You added Delta Lodge at Kananaskis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Lodge at Kananaskis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Centennial Road, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 hotels in Kananaskis Country
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel, but awful Signature Club Staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have always stayed in Delta hotels and my husband being a Platinum member we get to enjoy some of the perks like, having to relax and eat at signature club room. Love the hotel for it's cleanliness and friendly staff specially in Delta Vancouver. But our experience in Delta Kananaskis Village was awful, it wasn't even busy and the supervisor was even there (we've learned that his shift was almost over). No greetings at all and none of the staff even showed us where the foods are, we've ask where the drinks are and Claudia(one of the staff there)just shouted to us where it was. I have written a feedback to the hotel manager and she got back to me right away(which was good). Apologized and would try to do some training (which I did suggest as well) to rectify situation. But love the place and amenities!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay with us.

I am very sorry that your experience in the Signature Club lounge was so poor; we take a lot of pride in our service at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis and this is clearly not up to the standard that we hold dear. As you indicated, our Front Office Manager has taken the time to discuss and "re-train" our Signature Club servers to avoid this type of occurrence in future. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    153
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
154
134
6
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've stayed here twice this year, once when I ran in the K-100, and again when the family took a summer holiday. The hotel has nice restaurants (the one with the piano was fantastic), and has a fine breakfast buffet.

If sports are your thing, the hotel has links to great walking/hiking/running trails, a tennis court, baseball diamond, outdoor hockey rink, bike rentals, kayak rentals, canoe rentals, you name it. Even the gym is better than the average hotel gym.

Also, we wanted to take our dog on this trip, and the hotel was very accommodating, including a dog bowl and treats with the room.

Still, for what we paid, I was disappointed. This place has weddings all summer, and weddings come with noise, which I understand, though I've stayed in places with better soundproofing. The worst problem was the lack of air conditioning, though. Alberta's summers seem to be getting hotter and hotter, and it seems odd to pay north of $300 for a room that's not air conditioned. Our situation was that we would open the window to cool the room, then hear the partiers at the wedding. We were in a loft room, which I think exacerbated the heat.

Little chunks of pool tiles are coming off, the furniture in the rooms looks dated, and the hotel just has a ... worn ... look to it. It has its charms, and I'll probably stay here for the K-100 again next year, but it really could do with an overhaul that sees all the rooms outfitted with air conditioning, and some modernisation of the rooms, pool, sauna, and steam room.

Room Tip: The loft rooms are VERY hot in the summer. We stayed in a suite that had a portable air conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

We are very happy to know that, overall, you seemed to enjoy your stay with us.

I am very sorry, however, that you experienced noise challenges with the wedding groups during your summer stay with us. We try to minimize the impact of such events on our other guests by blocking their guest rooms in areas away from where we feel the noise will be. Unfortunately, that does not always work correctly depending on the volume of guests we may have at that particular time. Regardless, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced.

I also wanted to mention that we are in the design / mock up stage of renewing all of the guest rooms in the hotel over the next couple of years which should address some of your concerns. As part of the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis Team, we are very excited to see the finished product and hope our guests will too.

Thank you once again for your comments and we do hope to welcome you again in 2013 for the K-100.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms were clean. The staff was extremely accomodating, including day trip arrangements. there were 5 great restaurants in the hotel, and the spa was extremely clean and lovely. there are no words the describe the beautiful scenery! A great location for a family vacation, especially if you love the outdoors! - lots of hiking, bike riding, golf, horseback riding, and lots of water activities...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear St. Catharines, Canada,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

We are thrilled that you and your family chose to vacation with us and had a great time! To create wonderful memories and experiences for our guests is exactly what we want and strive for.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

These guys absolutely nailed it for our cycling team event. They rolled out all the stops to make our event a HUGE success. For those who cycle this is a world class region in a beautiful setting. Rooms were well maintained, the staff were very helpful and friendly, checkin was a breeze and the amenities were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing such a great review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

Your biking event sounds like a great experience and we are very happy that you chose to stay with us and bike in K-Country. You are right - it is such as phenomenal area and would have been quite challenging!

Thank you once again for the feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again - whether it's biking season or not!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Delta Lodge at Kananaskis Lodge is a fantastic family hotel with great restaurants and snack areas in a beautiful part of the country. It has amusements for all members of the family and have special seasonal events. Our last stay at this hotel was spoiled and ruined our weekend for the entire family. We had a room in a non smoking area of the hotel which was beautiful with a balcony. Unfortunately the ignorant guests in the room above us felt that the law did not apply to them and continued to smoke, which meant that their gastly second hand smoke was blowing into our room as our balcony door was open. It was reported to the Hotel secuirty, they asked the people to stop smoking (twice) but they did not take any notice and continued to smoke. It left us with no option but to leave the hotel. We felt it was not safe to stay any longer in a hotel wich chose not to enforce the Non Smoking Rules and Regulations. So maybe if you stay there, bring an oxygen mask with you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge one night over Labor Day Weekend. The grounds are well maintained with many places to walk/hike. Our room was in the Signature Club. It was quite roomy and the bed/pillows gave both of us a good nights sleep. The bathroom needed updating, but overall the room was clean and comfortable. We had a "happy hour" in the lounge where the food was tasty. However our breakfast in the Fireweed Grill left alot to be desired. The eggs benedict were cooked more like hard boiled. If we had the opportunity, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis to TripAdvisor.

While it sounds like you generally had a great time, I am very sorry that your breakfast was not satisfactory. I have forwarded your comments to our Director of Food & Beverage for internal review; feedback is extremely valuable to us as it provides us with the opportunity to make changes and better serve our guests.

Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis.

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed one night here. We stayed in the Main Lodge in a 2 queen bed room. It had everything including fridge, suitcase stand, coffee machine, 2 sinks and the beds were comfy, comfy, comfy. The Fireweed was wonderful, the food fresh and a good representation of Alberta Cuisine. The Bighorn Lounge was a great place to enjoy dessert after. Minors are allowed until 7pm. We had a fabulous afternoon in the spa, and then spent the next day on a walk, then tennis, then basketball. We could have rented bikes, ordered a picnic lunch and brought our dog but perhaps next time. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!!! The staff were friendly and answered all of our questions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLKEA_11, Executive Assistant at Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review of your stay with us at the Delta Lodge at Kananaskis! We really appreciate you taking the time to submit it.

It sounds like you both had a great time spending your mini-vacation together and taking advantage of the fantastic weather we have had this fall.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in future!

Kind regards,

Mona Carder
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Lodge at Kananaskis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Lodge at Kananaskis

Address: 1 Centennial Road, Alberta TOL 2H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#7 Family Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#10 Business Hotel in Kananaskis Country
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kananaskis Country
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Lodge at Kananaskis 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Delta Lodge at Kananaskis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kananaskis Lodge
Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Hotel Kananaskis Village
Kananaskis Delta
Delta Kananaskis Village
Delta Kananaskis Hotel
Delta Kananaskis Lodge
Lodge At Kananaskis
Kananaskis Village Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Lodge at Kananaskis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.