We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvester's

Sylvester's
1099 Santa Ynez Ave, Los Osos, CA 93402
+1 805-528-0779
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Los Osos
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Dried out burger only rescued by onion, lettuce, tomato, and sauce. Old fashioned adds , interesting combos, but over cooked meat a minus. Added big serving of onion rings-not pressed. Was busy though. May try again, but only if in area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We picked Sylvester's based on TripAdviser ratings and were not disappointed. It's a small place and most likely you'll end up sitting outside. That's not a bad thing but be prepared if you it's chilly. We ordered burgers all around and they were all great. The fries were good too. The kids menus come on frisbees which was cool. Their "sylvester sauce" was good...great on burgers and for dipping fries.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Burgers on the Central Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Sylvester's countless times and it still manages to maintain its local flavor and serve those fantastic burgers. Under new ownership the menu has expanded a bit but the burgers are still fantastically the same. My favorite is the mushroom burgers with delicious wine marinated mushrooms swimming in that great Sylvester's sauce on the burger. My husband likes the Old Fashion (yes that's how it's spelled). All burgers come in a 1/3 or a 1/2 pound size. The smaller is more than adequate for any appetite. You can done outside on their porch on picnic like tables and enjoy that Central Coast cool weather. They now take Visa charge cards. Whenever we are here at least one lunch or dinner is at Sylvester's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stopped here while staying in Moro Bay on a family vacation. We all decided we wanted a burger so my son checked his iPhone and found this place had a good rating so we drove over here to try it out and we were not disappointed. The food and service were great. It's not a fancy place, just good food. I had the turkey burger with fry's and it was all I could eat. They also have kids meals which my grand-kids also enjoyed. Our hole family,10 of us, really enjoyed our meals and we will be telling our friends about this place when they come up this way. Give it a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best burgers anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

As most other restaurants in Los Osos come and go over the years, Sylvester's has become an institution in our cozy little coastal town. The burgers and chicken sandwiches are huge (1/4 & 1/3lb) and reasonably priced, and the large cut french fries and onion rings are sinfully delicious. My favorite is the Desperado burger, and I recommend getting the sauce on the side.

The only (very) slight negative is they are very generous with the Sylvester's sauce, which can turn your burger into a soup if you don't eat it quickly or are a bit fussy about getting your fingers messy. Service is always friendly and they don't fuss or give you the evil eye even if you come in at 8:45pm (15 mins before closing)!

The building is a bit old and funky inside, but don't let that scare you away from some of the best burgers in the County!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvester's also viewed

Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sylvester's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvester's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.