We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Firestone Vineyard

Firestone Vineyard
5017 Zaca Station Road, P.O. Box 244, Los Olivos, CA 93441
805-688-3940
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Los Olivos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Santa Ynez Valley winery tasting room offers one of the Central Coast’s most comfortable and comprehensive visitor experiences, including daily winery tours and extensive picnic facilities. Archive photos and other artifacts chart the Firestone family’s pioneering heritage, from turn-of-the-century tire innovation to the establishment of Santa Barbara County’s first estate winery in 1972. The recently remodeled tasting room features an island bar and picture windows that overlook our estate vineyards. We strive to offer an informative and welcoming atmosphere that will appeal to wine enthusiasts and novices alike. Our free daily tours guide you through the history of the winery, and through the production of fine wine from vine to glass. Tours begin at the demonstration cork tree and continue out into the estate vineyards. The winemaking process is then showcased from the crush pad to the fermentation cellar to the barrel cellar. Tours typically last between 20 to 30 minutes, depending on the volume of guests and depth of questions. Tours depart daily at 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3:15 p.m.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This winery was very ordinary. I must admit we were expecting much more. It is an attractive building but we found no wine that impressed us.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    26
    12
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Pretty setting with good tasting selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

we enjoyed our visit to Firestone. The tasting room is spacious with the bar area in the center. The wines were good and reasonably priced if you are interested in buying some to take home.

Our server wasn't all that informative and was more interested in selling (wines, the wine club, the relationship of the wine club to other wine clubs) than in discussing wine.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We popped in for a quick wine tasting. Our server was not that attentive, but he was busy with another group & we honestly didn't care (we enjoy wine but we are far from a wine snob). I was very impressed with the beauty of the vineyard. The interior was huge & looked like a tavern. We enjoyed it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Service ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had my dog with me so we sat outside. There were a limited number of tables to sit at and very little shade (no umbrellas). It was a nice grass area though. If there were umbrellas or some kind of shade, might have been nicer. The service was ok. Since I had to go in and out (since I was sitting outside), it seemed like the servers changed every time. It wasn't overly crowded but I had to get their attention sometimes to get another glass. When I did get next tasting, the server seemed just to give me the standard facts about the wine but was like a robot. Not very personal. Worth a try - maybe when not so hot

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley P, Public Relations Manager at Firestone Vineyard, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Mooki,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Firestone Vineyards and Winery. We just wanted to point out that we are a dog friendly winery and allow well behaved pups inside the tasting room. If you happen to stop by again on a warm day, please feel free to enjoy your tastings inside!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a neat upscale winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were given a somewhat private showing and history of the place and complemented our stay in Solvang. Was not expecting the area to be so welcoming and just makes you feel special after fighting traffic the day before in LA. Great wine and views.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firestone Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Firestone Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firestone Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.