We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2860 Grand Avenue, Los Olivos, CA 93441   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Los Olivos
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked the Winter Wonderland package, and without a lot of pre-planning, still felt we got a lot of bang for the buck. Luxury Spa room was very spacious -- although room only has a shower, no tub! Complimentary bottled water in room fridge, Keurig coffees and tea by the pool, which is heated. Package included full breakfast each day, 3-course dinner at Petro's with wine tasting/pairing per course (nice surprise), 4 wine tastings plus a 55-minute massage for 2 that we upgraded to hot-stone for additional $10 each. We even had a celebrity sighting... let's just say he was a little outside his "Northern Exposure." A secret find in a sleepy town. Perfect weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Rooms 20/21 are in back of hotel, off main street. Very quiet, private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
59
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything about the Inn is First Class! Although a bit pricey, it is worth the stay. a great location for touring around the neighboring vineyards. Excellent breakfast included. Petro's in the Inn, has a somewhat limited Greek menu, but all delicious. The wine (and beer) tasting down the hall in Bin 2860 is terrific. They offer an unusual variety to choose from. We found this exceptionally attractive as an alternative to the vineyards who offer their specialized fare. The tasting menu was very diversified and International as well. Big surprise were the beer flavors.

Room Tip: Large suites available in a separate building across the street from the main Inn building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at Fess Parkers in Los Olivos. We have stayed at quite a few places in Santa Ynez, and this was by far the best. Excellent staff, service, rooms etc. It's nice being able to walk out the door to local restaurants and wine tasting rooms. Also, Petros for breakfast at Fess Parkers was delicious. We can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room #2 at the main building and loved it. Very nice room, fireplace, compfy king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

But you need to preplan to squeeze the value out of this as it is pricey.
We stayed on a Tuesday evening. The room was a bit under $400 - but there are things included: breakfast and tastings at 3 tasting rooms.
Plus (here's where preplanning comes in) - if you are a member of the Fess Parker wine club you get a 15 or 20% discount on your room. That's quite a discount!
Plus the facility and the adjoining Petros restaurant are both excellent. The little village of Los Olivos is charming during the week (not as crowded as the on the weekeknds).
And the best towels and bed ever!

Room Tip: We were across the street from the main building. Our room was street level and on the street, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

All too often expensive inns and hotels offer attractive common areas with mediocre rooms and furnishings. This inn has the attractive common areas but also offers rooms and suites with high quality furnishings, including the first gas fireplaces that you turn on and off with a light switch (yes, they are real burning gas fireplaces, not the schlocky ones with rotaing light bulbs. Although the original building was old, it has been upgraded so well that you would never know it; the rooms are quiet, the furnishings tasteful and comfortable. The bathrooms are exceptionally well designed, with the first showers we have seen with multiple showerheads mounted vertically that was your entire body.

Breakfast at the inn's Greek restaurant is included in the price. Don't let the "Greek" part put you off, this is an excellent restaurant, with warm, friendly service.

It really seems that everything Fess Parker touched was first-rate. We have stayed at his hotel in Santa Barbara, which we liked, although we like this one better, perhaps because (it is said) his wife designed this one. He also ownd a vineyard near Los Olivos (fre passes for wine tasting are provided for inn guests) that is known for producing excellent wines.

Across Grand Street from the inn is a small handicapped access facility offering equally nice rooms. To the right of it, behind a gate that your inn room key will open, is zero edge swimming pool. A great place on a warm day.

SUGGESTION #1: Take a left on Grand Street that fronts the inn, and go about a mile out of town until you come to a wonderful lavender farm. Smells to die for.

SUGGESTION #2: If you're driving north on U.S. Route 101, stop off at the Laetitian Winery tasting room just before you get to Santa Maria. We really liked every wine we sampled, and ended up buying six different ones.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite (about $100 more per night than a room), but the rooms seemed to be equally nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We typically don't like to spend more than $200 a night on a hotel because either we are out most of the time, or find it just isn't worth it. Fess Parker's is certainly an exception. The pace in Los Olivos is pleasantly slow and relaxing and one can spend only so much of the day out wine tasting. There is time to just hang out, and the Inn is the perfect place to do it. The entire place (except the lobby restrooms) has been recently renovated and they really did it right. The rooms are beautifully decorated with all the amenities you could want and lots of attention to detail. All the modern conveniences, yet still very warm and inviting. The cost of the room includes tastings at the Fess Parker Winery just north of town, two wineries in town owned by the Parker Family (Epiphany and E&T) and the shop located in the hotel. It also includes breakfast at their Petros Restaurant, one of the best breakfasts we've had. When one considers that the tastings and the breakfast for two are at least a $100 value, the cost of the room isn't as much as it seems.

Here's a good itinerary for an overnight stay. Arrive early, and even if your room isn't ready, get your voucher for the complimentary tastings. Go a block up to the Los Olivos General Store and get a picnic lunch to go at Panino (great sandwiches). Drive out to the Fess Parker Winery and have your lunch on the grounds while doing your tasting. Head back into town and do more tasting at Epiphany or E&T. Then, enjoy the late afternoon at the Inn's new pool area before dinner at Petros (or one of the very good restaurants in town like the Los Olivos Cafe or Brothers). Sleep in, have a leisurely breakfast (served til 11:00 am) and do some more tasting before heading out.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and the staff were all terrific. The quality is high-end, but the atmosphere is very comfortable....will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here and can't wait to come back. Rooms are fabulous, stayed in #17, breakfast is deeeeelicious, love the pool, spa and staff. I cannot say enough good things about this place, it is spot on!!! Great value for the money!

Room Tip: This place is a must! Los Olivos cafe across the street is a fav!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa

Address: 2860 Grand Avenue, Los Olivos, CA 93441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Olivos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Los Olivos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Wine Country Hotel Los Olivos
Fess Parkers Wine Country Hotel
Country Inn Los Olivos
Fess Parkers Wine Country Resort
Los Olivos Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.