We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one and only is worth a trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2860 Grand Avenue, Los Olivos, CA 93441   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Olivos
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The one and only is worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We came for our anniversary and did a little splurge which was well worth it. Stayed here many years ago before it was bought by the Parker family. The changes are dramatic and extremely well done. Rooms are now spectacular, very well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The fireplace was a really nice touch and we used it in the morning. Breakfast was included in the room price as well as a wine tasting. Did not visit the pool area or spa but bet they are hugely improved from previous visit. Although a very small town, our room windows faced grand street and we were awakened at 5:30 by a trash truck - might want to ask for a room not facing the street. Free wi-fi. ALL THE STAFF were extremely helpful and pleasant. We recommend it and Los Olivos too.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Los Olivos, is a quiet little town, with a lot of tasting rooms, and a few shops, and places to have coffee. The Inn is very nice, the rooms very spacious with fireplace, and large bathroom. The restaurant Petros is part of the Inn, as well as its bar, so nice for drinks. The pool is located across the street, so I would decide if you want o be near the pool or the restaurant. The pool is nicely set up with lounge chairs, as well as a cabana, with couches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have been to Santa Barbara Wine Country a few times and have always been dissapointed in the "motor lodge" accomodations - as seen in the movie "Sideways". In fact, I would say one of the reasons I don't go more is simply because the quality of available accomodations is so limited. So when I had the chance to stay at the Fess Parker Inn & Spa I was excited but anxious. Would it really live up to my expectations?

The short answer is, Yes! The property exceeded my expectations significantly. Not only is the setting and exterior excellent, once I went inside I discovered an attention to detail not seen at most large scale 5 star properties. In addtion, the service was consistently outstanding with each and every staff member constantly greeting me and asking if they could be of service.

We stayed in Room 4. This room is in the main part of the property and directly above the main entrance. The room itself was well sized, with a coffee bar, a wet bar, a desk area, a sitting area, a bench at the end of the bed and a fireplace. The inteior design is top notch with high end finishes combined with attention to detail to provide a beautiful modern yet rustic design. The bathroom finishes were equally pleasing with a great oversized shower featuring an adjustable massaging shower head (with enough pressure to be appreciated). Additionally, the towels were outstaning. Not only were they exceptionally soft and absorbant, they were also oversized, "Spa" towels, a nice treat compared to anyplace else we could have stayed.

The connecting restaurant (Petros) and Bottle shop were in full keeping with the quality of the Inn. The resort also offers full Spa services and a pool. My wife had an 80 minute massage and we both enjoyed the comfortably heated (approx 90F) edgeless pool.

Overall I am certain that I will be making many trips back to Santa Barbara wine country to stay at the Fess Parker Inn, even if I don't go wine tasting. The Inn is a destination in itself!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. But room 4 has a vaulted ceiling which makes the room fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This property has it all! Beautiful rooms with first class construction, fireplaces in the rooms and spacious bathrooms. The rooms are done in beautiful colors and the linens are of the highest quality material!

The Spa and Pool area was also impressive. It was very relaxing and spa services were great!
The resturant on property was excellent and very accomindating for what I neeeded.

Staff was very knowledgeable and the helpful

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the inn for a very special occasion, our 20th anniversary, and it was the perfect choice. The hotel staff are very helpful and hospitable, the grounds are lovely, and our room was exceptionally beautiful and comfortable. We were on a midweek package that included wine tastings--Bin 2860 right on site is very fun, with friendly, knowledgeable staff, and we ended up buying some wine there. The short drive out to Fess Parker's is picturesque, and it was another enjoyable tasting there, a very attractive building with tall trees and roses and expanses of green all around. The inn is perfectly located for walking around the charming little town, and it is also nice to take drives in the country from there.
I hope the management will soon have more information and photos of the newly renovated areas on the website--we didn't bring swimsuits because there is no mention of a pool on the website, but they have an absolutely beautiful poolside lounging area.
The only disappointment was the restaurant at the inn, Petros. The food was good, but our waitress lacked the warmth and hospitality we had received at the hotel and tastings, and we hardly saw her. She was gone for long periods after each course, even though the restaurant was nearly empty. My husband had made the reservation and told them of our anniversary, but it was never mentioned with even an obligatory "happy anniversary." There is an inviting patio for breakfast, but the food and service were just okay were okay (unripe fruit, lukewarm tea, empty salt and pepper, but the coffe, eggs, bacon and pancakes were good).
My recommendation would be DEFINITELY stay at Fess Parker's, but eat at the new restaurant in town, "Sides," (Sides, Hardware and Shoes, a Brothers Restaurant) just around the corner from the inn. And bring your swimsuit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is the best hotel I have stayed in many years. Everything about this place is classy and charming.

Los Olivos is a small town in the middle of wine country in Central Coast, California. From the check in, to the bell boy that took us to our room and gave us the tour, the wonderful Greek restaurant on the site (Petro's)... everything was perfect, but the room was the best part of it all.

Comfortable bed, soft robes in the closet, soft towels, gigantic bathroom and shower, complimentary water (as many as you want), flat screen TV with internet and cable... no detail was left behind. Even the turn down service was the perfect touch to end the day.

More and more I realize that the big chains are too concern about the bottom line and they believe that less is more. WRONG! Boutique hotels offer outstanding service and amenities, and everything that the big chains don't do anymore. Just food for thought!

I plan on going back to the Fess Parker's Wine Country just to enjoy a romantic weekend at this sensational hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa

Address: 2860 Grand Avenue, Los Olivos, CA 93441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Olivos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Olivos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Wine Country Hotel Los Olivos
Fess Parkers Wine Country Hotel
Country Inn Los Olivos
Fess Parkers Wine Country Resort
Los Olivos Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fess Parker's Wine Country Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.