We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva! Neighborhood Eatery of Los Gatos

Viva! Neighborhood Eatery of Los Gatos
15970 Los Gatos Blvd, Los Gatos, CA 95032-3424
408-356-4902
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Viva! Neighborhood Eatery of Los Gatos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 139 Restaurants in Los Gatos
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blossom Hill Rd.
Riverbank, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Private Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a private birthday party here and they did a great job. While the room is right off the entrance there is plenty of privacy. Space is nicely decorated and the food was excellent. Staff was attentive and accommodating to needs, made our experience very enjoyable!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We enjoyed the food and ambiance in this restaurant. The portions were just right, and service was too. The fish, beef and chicken served at our table was excellent. The wine-by-the-glass was an appropriate generous pour considering the price. The desserts were very tasty as was the coffee. The service was perfect. Very attentive, always with a smile and punctual. Around 9:00 a live band started playing a genre the more mature patrons really enjoyed. No dancing floor but we made do. We look forward to going back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service. Awful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Ate thanksgiving dinner at Viva! Had Turkey Dinner at $28. All I could taste was salt. No flavour. Service excellent and very friendly. Food I had at least was a disaster!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Anything you want it to be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Viva is a strange little place, and it's a gold mine for LG locals (this is possibly it's most horrible attribute as the locals are often loud superficial harpys) It's a place for grown ups, and it's not cheap, but there are some fantastic values to be found as well. (just don't go thinking it's Dennys)

The menu selections are large feeds, but there are also "small portions" available, and they are sumptuous. The appetizer menu also is distinctive and worth checking out if you are not a big eater. Some of the more interesting selections are the Onion Tart, the house Manhattan Clam Chowder, the thin crust pizza, and any of the fish and pasta is sure to please. The breakfasts on weekends are also a treat, esp served with a Gin Bloody Mary. The thing about Viva that sets it apart is that the set-up is based on the owners believing (possibly incorrectly) that you are not stupid. On weekend nights there is live Jazz. (an attempt to prove south bay is not a cow-town) They stock an incredible selection of wines, and ports, and above all the service is elaborate and fantastic. The staff, from the bussers to the Mgr take a great deal of pride in the place and it shows. (they know the menu and they know the wine...impressive stuff)

If something is not right, they fix it, and above everything else, this makes a visit to Viva a pleasure. There are quiet spots, rowdie spots, bar spots, pick-up spots, bring your dog to the pub spots, places to watch baseball, and places to be left alone...it's like the Great Barrier Reef of nooks with different moods. The beer selection is good for the south bay, but a weakness. The drinks are always good, but I would love to see more of a focus on classics such as the Negroni, Sidecar and various incarnations from Dr Jerry Thomas' 1880s cocktail guide.(bible)

Regular busy times can be especially crowded there, so try to work around that for the best experience. Places like this with such a focus on how a guest is treated are few and far between now days...recognize this and tip the band and wait staff, they are sharp and make the place shine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our favorite local hangout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This has become our regular Friday night "date night" location. The food is always good, the staff is excellent and the free Jazz on Friday nights is the topper.

They have the best Happy Hour around and it runs 7 days a week!

They also have a great breakfast on Saturday & Sunday and the special occasions brunch (Easter, Mother's Day, etc) is fantastic.

We like to sit at the bar and watch sports and chat with the staff. Randy, Amy & Billy are tops! We have been told we 'aren't like the other regulars' which we take as a huge compliment. :)

I would avoid the back room on Thursday nights, it's Ladies Night and the hens can get a bit noisy. :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva! Neighborhood Eatery of Los Gatos also viewed

 

Been to Viva! Neighborhood Eatery of Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva! Neighborhood Eatery of Los Gatos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.