We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Toll House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toll House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Toll House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toll House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 S. Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Los Gatos
A TripAdvisor Member
“Love the Toll House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

We stayed in Los Gatos at the Toll House and we loved it. The rooms were very clean and nice. The service was excellent and the location perfect.
The complimentary business center was a life saver. Free internet access and use of laser printer, copy machine, envelopes, stapler, paper clips, whole punchers, etc....I picked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and was very pleased. They even have hot Toll House chocolate chip cookies when you check in. They were delicious! They will even give you a copy of the recipe with the story of the Toll House cookie. I will definately stay there again when I am in the area. We stayed at the Luxury Palace Hotel in San Francisco after we stayed at the Toll House, and I'm not sure which hotel I liked best. I do know I liked the price of the Toll House the best.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    101
    35
    14
    8
See reviews for
63
95
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

All we can say after returning post renovation is WOW! We will not stay anywhere else while in Los Gatos,

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2005

I've stayed here at least 20 times now for business and am always impressed with the level of detail they offer. Everything down to the pillow type is remembered.

Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2005

We arrived back at the Toll House in December for our annual Holiday gathering with family and were very pleased the hotel was completed with its renovation. It looks great and the new restaurant is excellent. We will always stay there...........as always......

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Toll House, Los Gatos, CA in September 2004. The staff provided excellent customer service. Our room was newly decorated, with a balcony and small table to sit at - a perfect place to sit and drink a glass of wine before heading into town for dinner. The continental breakfast consisted of danish, juice, yogurt, and coffee/tea, however, you need to get to the breakfast area early enough before all the danish are taken. There are a lot of weddings there, so expect some noise in the hallways on Sat. nights, or just bring some ear plugs, in case needed!! Since the hotel is located in town, it's easy to go back and forth to and from the hotel. The town itself is a great weekend getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2004

My girlfriend and I chose the Toll House for a weekend getaway. Upon arrival, we were very dissapointed to discover that the lobby floor was under renovation and looking quite unpresentable. The restaurant/lounge was also under renovation and therefore closed. We were given no warning when making our reservations two weeks beforehand. And the rates were not reduced.

Our "Junior Suite" was clean and quite nice. We enjoyed the fireplace and the jetted tub. The stereo system however was not working properly (no sound from right speaker).

Although room service was available, the menu was less than exciting (we ate great sushi down the street instead).

Overall, our stay was fine. As mentioned, the room was nice. It simply would have been appreciated to receive some warning regarding the ongoing renovations; we would of not stayed at the Toll House and just waited until it was presentable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2004

I love the town of Los Gatos and this hotel is great location but I was so disappointed by the room and the hotel itself. All that I can say if OLD. It was a long walk to the room and the room was dark and old with dirty carpet and hotel six type furnishings. The only thing that I can say good is the toll house cookies and apples at the front desk. To be fair, the toll house is undergoing renovation (which made the experience worse) but I think I got the worst room in the house and I would never book this hotel again. If it had not been a long travel week and late when I check in I would have moved to another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Hotel

Address: 140 S. Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toll House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Charmed. Toll House is a unique fusion of the warm intimacy of a small town hotel and modern sophisticated hospitality. Situated in the heart of beautiful Los Gatos, Toll House captures the charm and ambiance of historic downtown and is only steps away from a delightfully bustling array of chic boutiques and eateries. This charming boutique hotel is a peaceful retreat at the gateway to Silicon Valley offering personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including Essential Elements bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Just off the lobby is Three Degrees Restaurant, a place to entertain associates, celebrate old friends and perhaps meet some new ones. At every step, from cocktails in the bar to a meal under the stars, you'll find the friendliest wait staff in Los Gatos at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Toll House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Los Gatos
Toll Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toll House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.