We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff; Extremely Poor Wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toll House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Toll House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toll House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 S. Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Los Gatos
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location and Staff; Extremely Poor Wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Hotel was really nice and the rooms are excellent. Sometimes you can hear noises from other rooms if really loud, which gave me trouble sleeping a couple of nights.

Wifi support is awful. I had to call customer support every night of my stay to get my connection up and running and was unreliable to stay connected. There was no wired connection available either.

Location is fantastic as it is right downtown and close to everything you need.

Staff was excellent in taking care of your needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel V, Front Office Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear VatoSteve,

Thank you for your feedback on you recent stay. I do apologize about the the internet as I found out there was some small issues with our internet provider but everything is now fixed. With the holidays among us, we do host a number of events and are always happy to take some extra time to find you the perfect accomodations during those times. I hope your travels bring you back to the area and you choose to stay with us again. Happy Holidays and thank you for being our guest.

Best Regards,

Abel Veloz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    101
    35
    14
    8
See reviews for
63
95
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

After reading other reviews, here is my 2 cents about our stay.
The hotel is nice and the location is great. Walking distance to everything downtown LG.
There were negative reviews about parking, that's silly. Parking is very convenient and it's free for guests and patroms of restaurant. There is a gate and you need a room key to get out. That just helps guarantee available spaces near elevator!
There were also negative reviews for noise...this is the problem we had. "Thin walls" or lack of soundproofing caused for noisy people on our floor to keep us awake. Footsteps from rooms above were also noticeable. Ask for a 3rd floor room if you stay here.

Thoughts on the Junior Suite. We really just booked it for the fireplace. It is spacious, but layout is kinda weird. The bathroom is huge, but just wasted space. Why not use all that space for a bigger bath tub / shower? All the junior suites have the same view of the post office and hardware store.
Not sure I would stay here again due to noise, but if so, I would try to get an Executive King room. Fireplace, King bed, and cheaper than Junior Suite.

Room tips: Executive King. 3rd floor for no footsteps. View facing south (mountains).

Room Tip: Go with Executive King, they have fireplace, cheaper than suite. Ask for 3rd Floor room. View faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Toll House over this past weekend. We booked a car through the front desk to take us to the San Jose airport on Monday. About 90 minutes before we were to be picked up, the front desk called our room to make sure we were aware of flooding at the airport and inquiring as to whether we wanted to move up our departure time. This level of service goes above and beyond.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel V, Front Office Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Phillip K,

Thank you for providing us your feedback and highlighting the "AMAZING SERVICE" that you received. We celebrate as team when we get reviews like yours. Thank you for inspiring us and have a wonderful Holiday Season! We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

Abel Veloz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Construction of the building is poor - you will hear other guests walking on the floor above you. Breakfast at the restaurant was terrible - poached eggs lightly cook were hard cooked, potatoes were cold, cheap jelly served with the toast. You will have a better breakfast at Denny's

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was a nice hotel in a good location with free parking. Nice rooms, efficient but not friendly staff (other than the waiter in the restaurant who was very friendly). There is free wifi, but it is basically dial up speed. If you want real wifi, you have to pay to upgrade. I booked this hotel online for less than half the going rate. It was worth the discounted rate, but not the $250 a night they were asking, so I'm rating it 3 stars.

Green Features: Appeared to be environmentally friendly, though they did replace all of our towels even though they weren't on the floor.
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abel V, Front Office Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Cando03,

Thank you for taking some time to share your experience. I am very sorry and dissapointed to hear that you felt our staff was unfriendly aside from the waiter you had. We truely work hard as a team to delight all of our guests. I have shared your feedback with the team as a training tool. I hope you will return in the future for another chance to impress you. Thank you for inspiring us to be better and I wish you Happy Holidays!

Best Regards,

Abel Veloz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've now stayed at the Toll House hotel on two separate occasions, and found it very pleasant all around. The rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable, the food is delicious, and the location is great. I tend to get room service when I travel and I have to say, both the shrimp risotto and the steak with irish whiskey reduction sauce (!) were delectable. But, it's the service that really brings you back to a place when you have so many options. The whole staff here is great, very personable and helpful across the board. One of the standouts was Oscar, my waiter at breakfast (which was delicious and promptly served), with whom I had a very pleasant conversation about the bay area, kids, with a little philosophy and history thrown-in for good measure. I'd recommend both hotel and restaurant highly.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor, if possible. My 3rd floor room had a private balcony, my second floor room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a very enjoyable one night stay at the Toll House a few days ago. Jessie who checked us in was very warm, efficient, and professional. The lobby was clean and well decorated with fascinating artwork. The room was in top shape with an inviting fireplace and comfortable bed.
The Toll House is very well located next to the restaurants and shops of downtown Los Gatos.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Hotel

Address: 140 S. Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toll House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Charmed. Toll House is a unique fusion of the warm intimacy of a small town hotel and modern sophisticated hospitality. Situated in the heart of beautiful Los Gatos, Toll House captures the charm and ambiance of historic downtown and is only steps away from a delightfully bustling array of chic boutiques and eateries. This charming boutique hotel is a peaceful retreat at the gateway to Silicon Valley offering personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including Essential Elements bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Just off the lobby is Three Degrees Restaurant, a place to entertain associates, celebrate old friends and perhaps meet some new ones. At every step, from cocktails in the bar to a meal under the stars, you'll find the friendliest wait staff in Los Gatos at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Toll House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Los Gatos
Toll Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toll House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.