We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Front Desk!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toll House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Toll House Hotel to your Saves list
Toll House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 S. Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middletown, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Great Front Desk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with very helpful front desk.....always a plus for the weary traveler checking in! The upper level rooms have a beautiful view which overlooks a courtyard with fire pits. There are beautiful white lights strung between the balconies. Very pretty. Bathrooms are immaculate and stocked with high end shampoos, conditioners, etc. I did not eat on the premises but the restaurant looked very nice and lively in the evening. The only con was that I was told upon check-in that 50 dollars per night would be charged to my credit card to cover any amenities I might use in the room. For two nights, this was an added 100 dollars up front, even though I am one that never utilizes room services, or eats or drinks from the stocked refrigerator when I stay in hotels. I felt that this is a very high amount to be added to the room rate, and it should have been clarified when booking.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will F, Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Christina W.,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you loved the rooms, views, and bathroom. And we are thrilled with your opinion of our "Great Front Desk!" Our wonderful employees really do make the difference, throughout the hotel.

Thank you also for the feedback on our CC authorization policy. While it is now standard industry practice to authorize an additional amount at check-in which allows guests to charge meals or other items to their room account, your review is a helpful reminder that not all guests are expecting this. When no charges are added to the room account, this additional authorization is released at check-out. We hope this did not inconvenience you greatly.

Warm regards,
Will Farrow
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    136
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
95
111
20
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great small hotel near shops and restaurants. The room we got had an updated bathroom/vanity. Soap and shampoo are in a dispenser, so for someone like me with long hair, quantity was not an issue (though the pumps do not work well - I must have had to push on it twenty times to get a sufficient amount of product). The room was not heated prior to our arrival, so it was freezing, and the heating unit is a bit loud. No gym...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear trylmnke:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback of our hotel. Your comments are valuable as we are currently looking at options to improve the dispensers. They have been well received, and I understand that there is area for improvement. We have also been replacing the heater units throughout the hotel. As part of the final phase of renovation, we are almost complete with our new fitness room. I expect it to be completed in the next 45 days.

Thank you again for your feedback. We continually look to improve on the experience of our guests, and these comments help us do so. I trust when you return your will be pleasantly surprised that your comments went directly to our actions. Thanks again!

Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I held an offsite sales meeting for about twelve (12) people at the Toll House. The service was fantastic and the space was perfect for our event. I would definitely recommend the Toll House to anyone looking for an outstanding meeting venue. They really are small town charm with modern sophistication!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I'm in the San Jose area about one night a week for business and have tried various hotels in the last few months. Toll House has become my personal favorite. Rooms are spacious and clean. Suites are magnificent and include a fireplace. Rooms are very quiet and private. The hotel staff are very helpful and courteous. They are always ready to do the right thing for the customer. AnnaLee in particular has been very helpful to me. And they will give me very nice chocolate chip cookies any time for no charge - even late at night.
So the hotel is very nice. The bonus is the neighborhood. I love hotels where I can walk out the front door and quietly explore, finding quality restaurants, coffee shops, etc. within a couple of blocks. This is Los Gatos - a quiet gem at the edge of a noisy Silicon Valley. And if you have daytime to explore head over to Santa Cruz - just 15 minutes away.
Finally the room rates are very reasonable. In addition I can often get a very inexpensive upgrade to a suite (maybe they know me by now ?).
If you want a hotel with a lot of flash and many different restaurants this may not be for you. But everyone else should love this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It all started when we checked in. A warm greeting and both deskmen were very attentive with all our needs. Had a beautiful room that was recently decoratived and made us feel like king and queens. We enjoyed a few drinks at the bar and had a delightful conversation with the bartender. The bedding was so comfortable we slept like babies through the night. Had breakfast in the Hotel and our waiter was very friendly and the food was delicious. Had a great time walking down the main strip shopping and spending a carefree day. Will return the next time we stay in los gatos and maybe even if we wanted to go to Santa Cruz. This is a hidden resort that everyone should consider spending some relaxing time.

Room Tip: Room 303 good size and looked over the fountain and outdoor patio. It is also pet friendly so we pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at the Toll House for a weekend for a friend's wedding and was completely blown away by their attentiveness and willing to go above and beyond what any other hotel has ever done.
On our first day there they gave my friends and I handfuls of these yummy, soft, freshy baked chocolate chip cookies. This of course made all of us very happy:)
A few hours after we checked in, the porter named Doug (who by the way has got to be one of the most courteous and cheerful person I've met) knocked on our door with A BOX OF CUPCAKES. He told me they were compliments of the hotel and carefully lined enough cupcakes for all of us, even making sure to alternate between the pretty dark and light pink frosting. It was so adorable and I was just speechless at their surprise.
They continued to go above and beyond my expectations when I called to see if I could stay in a double even though I had booked a queen for the next day and they immediately granted my wish for no additional cost, even though the double was slightly more expensive than the queen I had originally booked.
All of the hotel employees I encountered (especially Doug) were so friendly that it obvious that they care about and put hard work into their job everyday. Absolutely LOVE this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will F, Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you blagunas! We love to hear great stories about our staff members providing excellent service. It sounds like Doug really went above and beyond for you. Our genuine warm and friendly employees like him make the difference. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.

Best regards,

Will Farrow
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Made a mistake in the booking date for our reservation and didn't realize it until the day we were supposed to check in. We called the hotel and asked if they could move It to another date. Abel, the agent who took the call, did so willingly and politely even though the hotel didn't have to so do.

Thanks Abel, for giving us great customer service!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will F, Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you stringman101 for taking the time to share your experience. Abel is our Front Office Manager who clearly leads by example. I am glad that you were happy with the service he provided. We look forward to providing more great service during you next visit to Los Gatos.

Best regards,

Will Farrow, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Hotel

Address: 140 S. Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toll House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Charmed. Toll House is a unique fusion of the warm intimacy of a small town hotel and modern sophisticated hospitality. Situated in the heart of beautiful Los Gatos, Toll House captures the charm and ambiance of historic downtown and is only steps away from a delightfully bustling array of chic boutiques and eateries. This charming boutique hotel is a peaceful retreat at the gateway to Silicon Valley offering personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including Essential Elements bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Just off the lobby is Verge Restaurant, a place to entertain associates, celebrate old friends and perhaps meet some new ones. At every step, from cocktails in the bar to a meal under the stars, you'll find the friendliest wait staff in Los Gatos at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toll House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Los Gatos
Toll Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toll House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.