We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toll House Hotel and SWA partners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toll House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Toll House Hotel to your Saves list
Toll House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 S. Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Toll House Hotel and SWA partners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We got a fantastic rate when we bought air and hotel through SWA, $79. We'd stayed at Toll House in the 80's many times and were not disappointed this time. Although the room was small and tucked in a corner, it was sunny and warm. The hotel has quite a history in Silicon Valley and many deals were brokered there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    138
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
96
112
20
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night in order to be close to dine at Manresa. It was very cold weather for the area and when we got into our room the temperature inside was definitely colder than it was outside. The air/heat comes from a large older unit on the floor so the only option is low or high heat, and low or high air with a temperature knob. It took hours for it to warm up inside the room and then there is no auto option so had to wake up in the middle of the night to turn it down. I took a hot shower when we arrived which produced enough steam that it actually set off the fire alarm in our room! The bathroom itself is very nice and had been redone but obviously no vent. Has European features like the eco-flush toilet and dispensers in the shower with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Bathrobes are always a nice touch. Staff was pleasant. Plenty of parking below the hotel. Convenient to downtown Los Gatos which is an adorable area with little wine stores, cafes, restaurants and stores. Other thing to note is if you are coming here for an event or wedding with a large group and might make noise. They had us sign a noise disclaimer which essentially gave them the right to boot us if we had guests in our room that were too loud. It makes sense in order to protect the other guests but I have never had to sign something like this before. I know from previous experience as part of a room wedding block at other hotels, our group could get noisy so I'd be apprehensive of booking this hotel if I were throwing my own event. The walls and doors are also thin so it isn't as if the rooms are well insulated from noise to begin with. We could clearly hear conversations as we were walking down the hall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear SF Crabette:
Thank you for your candid feedback. We recognize the challenges we have with the heating units and are in the process of replacing all of them. I also appreciate your comments regarding the noise disclaimer. We host many successful wedding events and rooms, but at time have noise complaints. We do our best to ensure that every guest has an excellent experience. On a positive note, I am happy that you enjoyed the hospitality from our staff. They are what make this hotel so desirable. Thank you again for posting your experience.
Best regards,
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just concluded a very nice stay at the Toll House in the center of Los Gatos. First, the downside, the few negatives that made this rating Very Good but not Excellent:

1. Spa and health club was under renovation and unavailable. The hotel substituted a pass to work out a a local club down the street, but it's not quite the same.
2. The lobbyis small, and really doesn't offer any seating that allows collegues to meet and work. Compounded by the restuarant NOT being open for lunch.
3. Room service was fine...except they were out of menu items rye bread and tomato juice. One? Ok, but both?

Now the good news. Extremely attentive staff, from front desk through to maintenance. Every interaction was positive, professional and reassuring - this is a great team. My room (two doubles) was spacious and extremely quiet, the bath was well laid out and very functional. I had a small balcony, and while the window was small, the glass door made up for it and did not make me feel claustrophobic.

The work area was functional - would have preferred a better desk chair, but the balance of the layout was fine. WiFi throughout the property. Large flat screen as you would expect, plus a DVD player and a nice loaner library int he lobby.

Bed and bedding was excellent - left me totally comfortable and totally rested.

If you are doing business in silicon valley, this is a great place to base. Highly recommended, and I will be back.

Room Tip: Room 226 overlooks the side of the property, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Pedalboy
Thank you for both the accolades as well as the constructive review. We have a great location for both business and pleasure in Silicon Valley, and our team is really excited to see more happy guests. We look forward to your return soon.
Many Thanks
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Toll House has nice people working there, quite a businessy vibe, and innocuous rooms that are fine if you're not paying too much. (We paid about $100.) Our Queen room was easily big enough for the two of us, with a large bathroom. The location is handy for eating at Manresa, and we appreciated the spa water in the lobby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear BPCH;
Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our seasonal special. I also am happy that you had a great experience with our team. That’s what we are here for. I hope that you can return soon. In the meantime, all the best.

Regards,
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
474 reviews 474 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I was here at this hotel for family members wedding. The hotel is very beautiful and all the rooms are very nice. The staff is very friendly. And was willing to help us with anything we needed. It's also in a perfect location in Los Gatos words right onto Main Street. It's in downtown and walking distance to most things. They also have free parking which is a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will F, Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear RahulMD,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you found the staff to be so accommodating. We strongly believe that our friendly and helpful staff are the best asset in the hotel. When your future travels bring you to Los Gatos, we look forward to welcoming you back to Toll House!

Best regards,

Will Farrow
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The location of the Toll House Hotel couldn't be better. It has ample free parking underneath and in back, and a good restaurant inside. It's close to numerous other restaurants and shops downtown. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. My only regret was that there was no refrigerator. The hotel was replacing carpets in the hallways, and the rooms looked to be newly-decorated also. The rate we payed (reservation made on an iPad as we neared town) made it a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro bay, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Customer service is wonderful. They offered us floor options for our room, gave a free Toll House cookie when we checked in, upgraded our room for free, all of the room service staff had nothing but smiles and were very polite.
The room was very comfortable and relaxing. We reserved a room with 2 double beds and was upgraded to one with a balcony(balcony was very spacious!). The beds and linen were so comfortable. I slept very well. I loved the bathroom, lots of room. There was no refrigerator in the room though, which I didn't check for before I made the reservation, but that would have been nice. Seemed like there would have been room for one.
Room service from the hotel restaurant was very yummy. I ordered the Rotissere chicken that came with garlic mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts with bacon! There was also this amazing sauce on the plate, which I dipped all of my food in! Breakfast I ordered the smoked salmon plate that came with a bagel, that was also very yummy.
We were only here for one night because my boyfriend had to dj down the street at Los Gatos Bar and Grill so we usually just stay in place with not so many amenities, but this was a nice treat for us. We will definitely be coming back to this place when we have to be in the area and will recommend it to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Toll House Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear laceymatzie;
Thanks for the great review! It is our pleasure to deliver excellent service, and I am pleased that you enjoyed so many of our amenities. Our staff is really committed to every guest and their experience. We thrive on seeing our guests have fun, and hear that they will be back. We look forward to your return soon.

Regards,
Jim Gerney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Toll House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll House Hotel

Address: 140 S. Santa Cruz Ave, Los Gatos, CA 95030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toll House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Charmed. Toll House is a unique fusion of the warm intimacy of a small town hotel and modern sophisticated hospitality. Situated in the heart of beautiful Los Gatos, Toll House captures the charm and ambiance of historic downtown and is only steps away from a delightfully bustling array of chic boutiques and eateries. This charming boutique hotel is a peaceful retreat at the gateway to Silicon Valley offering personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including Essential Elements bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Just off the lobby is Verge Restaurant, a place to entertain associates, celebrate old friends and perhaps meet some new ones. At every step, from cocktails in the bar to a meal under the stars, you'll find the friendliest wait staff in Los Gatos at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Toll House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Los Gatos
Toll Hotel Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toll House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.