We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Cuisine with a California Twist” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dio Deka

Dio Deka
210 E Main St, Los Gatos, CA 95030 (Formerly Kuleto's Italian Restaurant)
+1 408-354-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dio Deka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 139 Restaurants in Los Gatos
Price range: $21 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Fiesta Way
Description: Michelin star recipient San Francisco Bay & Wine country for 2011 & 2012"At Dio Deka the refined and technically precise Greek and Mediterranean dishes are elevated to stellar levels.”- anonymously by the Michelin inspector
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Greek Cuisine with a California Twist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Food was good. Service was good. Good wine list. Price is typical for the area.

It's always busy because it is good. As a result parking is always a problem.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great appetizers and outstanding cocktails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This unpretentious restaurant on the grounds of the Hotel Los Gatos has an excellent reputation. We invited friends to join us for cocktails and appetizers while visiting their city. We made it clear that we had reservations for dinner elsewhere, so we were seated in the bar area. The staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. The bartender actually served all of our orders. He mixed a mean martini and served a generous scotch on the rocks. There was a nice selection of wines by the glass as well. We asked how many pieces came with each of our appetizers and although the standard number was four, we were given five (enough for each) of the delicious dolma and the tasty phyllo pastry stuffed with spinach and cheese. We enjoyed everything so much that we will certainly return for dinner next time we are in Los Gatos.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Okay for over priced greek food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was okay, but not worth the price, and the wines very over priced. The Spanakopita is a bit weird with not much taste.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive Corkage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We brought our own wine as their wines are very expensive, therefore we were taken aback when we were charged $35.00 corkage. Far too expensive.

Food and service were great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Michelin quality without Michelin 'stuffy'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Based on good reviewed we tried Dio Deka and had a very pleasant dining experience.

They are a Michelin restaurant but it is nowhere apparent that this was something they were aiming for. Service is professional, but relaxed, decor is mostly understated and the food is excellent. There is also a very extensive wine list with a nice representation of Greek wines.

Appetizers are modestly sized but so good you might want to make up a dinner of small plates. The Octopus, stuffed grape leaves, dips were excellent. The Haloumi was so so and the chicken fried sweet breads were a little disappointing as the preparation robs them of some of their natural unctuousness.

We recommend it and will be going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dio Deka also viewed

 

Been to Dio Deka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dio Deka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.