We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Los Gatos Saratoga Road, Los Gatos, CA 95032 (Formerly Inn of Los Gatos)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I checked in on a Saturday to avoid the high weekend rates at Santa Cruz and Carmel which is where we are headed.It is in the middle of a make-over so that explains a lot.Bathroom was remodeled and very clean.Furniture is dated but acceptable for $89 per night.Not very acoustic and loud voces from other rooms were heard.Clean t/o and would recommed.Breakfast and coffee were good and had great biscotti.Excellent location for wine tasting.

Room Tip: go upstairs for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InTheIndustry55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks so much for the stay and the review! We're really happy when we can offer our guests great value for their money, and with the renovation coming along nicely, soon we'll be able to sweep them off their feet as well! Looking forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    63
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
63
50
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is an older place in a very nice area. It is real close to the freeway to San Jose. It is about 10 minutes south of the San Jose area. It is clean and the staff are friendly. They have free wifi and a limited bakery breakfast. There is currently construction in front on the main street. The beds are comfortable. Yes the motel was constructed in the 1960's, but they keep it up. It is a good value for the area. The cleaning staff starts early, so don't try to sleep in without putting the do not disturb sign on the door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thanks so much for staying, and taking the time to review us! I appreciate the comment about cleanliness - I have a great housekeeping staff who do wonders with the property. Make sure you come back once our renovations are complete (end of this year, we're thinking) and see just how much better it will be then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

very basic rooms circa 1980's ... you know, old tired bathrooms and those nasty old dark bed spreads that don't get washed between customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InTheIndustry55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much for staying and for reviewing our property. As you may have noticed by the construction on site, we are in the process of a $5 Million renovation including the guest rooms, so stay tuned. As for the bedspreads and comforters, we are actually quite fanatical about cleaning what we have, so while they are old, they are indeed clean. Look for the renovation to be complete by this Fall 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rnonv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stay here every few months--have relatives in the area. It is the most economical in the town. But, that does come with a few strings attached. The pictures on their website need to be updated. The pics of the rooms are correct but the grounds no longer have a lawn or lush greenery. They are building a new office/retail space on the grounds and the lawn is no longer....The breakfast is "very" limited but adequate depending on your eating habits. The rooms are always very clean and the beds are ok. They are still in the process of the re-model so bear with them--I think they are really trying to bring this older property up to date. The heating/cooling does not seem to work very well. The rooms do have newer individual units but they do not put out very hot or cold air and the fan speed is very minimal. Quiet location. Office staff could be a little friendlier---see the other gentlemen's remark....Good value for the price...

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for the review! Yes, the property is in need of updating, which is why we are currently redoing every portion of the property. We are putting in a new restaurant, pool, workout center, lobby, meeting space, guest laundry, and, of course, redoing each and every room (from the A/C to the fixtures and lighting, etc).

We do care about every guest's experience with us, and I apologize if your experience with the staff was a little rough. We are implementing new training procedures to ensure that every guest gets the experience they expect, each and every time. We look forward to serving you again in the future, and stay tuned for the completion of our renovation/rebuild, due to be completed at the end of the summer 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed there Aug 2011. Rooms are not great but are clean and accommodating. As stated in other reviews the parking lot was under construction, but no mention on the web site. We parked in a dirt lot so glad it was not raining. There is parking across the street due to the construction. The web site offers AAA discounts but when you reserve on the internet, there is no credit for it. It does not mention you have to ask at registration. .... then why two stars?... the jerk at the counter... argumentative, condescending and impolite... his name... Gavin M… I forewarn you.... if you don't like cold and unappreciative greetings, then stay away. He simply ignores the basic premise of who we are.... his freaking customers!!!! We have nothing good to say about that @$$ hole. Other than that, I hope you enjoy your stay in Los Gatos.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InTheIndustry55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
I am very sorry that you had a rough check-in experience. It can be difficult for even the most experienced among us to keep our cool while we are being yelled at for conditions that we feel are outside of our control (we don't like this construction phase, either!), and for this I sincerely apologize.

As for the AAA discount, AAA advertises themselves as a “Show Your Card & Save” program, and in the front of the AAA Tourbook it lists “Presenting your card at the admission desk” as how you get your AAA discount. We apologize that this proved a problem for you, but we do require seeing the card (otherwise everyone would qualify for it, sight unseen). And our website does have an "Under Construction" notice at the top of the Front page, as well as a picture of the lot so our guests can see exactly what condition we are in. We are grateful is hasn't rained yet as well, and can only continue to hang on until the unpleasant aspects of this exciting renovation are complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Note: The parking lot was under construction, no swimming pool on site. I hardly even noticed the work, they are conscientious enough to only work 9AM-4PM, and there is adequate parking in the grass, with a short walk to the rooms.
The Inn has an agreement with the nearby gym, guests get in free. Nice gym and outdoor pool within walking distance (1/2 mile).
Overall a nice place to rest your head and clean up for the next adventure. We didn't spend too much time in the room, but when we were there it was clean and quiet. Standard room had a small table and 2 chairs, tv stand, refrigerator, comfortable bed, luggage area, vanity, wall air conditioner/heater unit, and nice clean bathroom with shower only (no tub) and low flow option toilets. Small, but served the purpose and worth the price.
Continental breakfast included Starbucks coffee, juice, fruit, yogurt, granola bars, pastries, biscotti.
Desk staff was very courteous, helpful in giving out directions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InTheIndustry55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for the review! Obviously the parking lot being under construction isn't the most convenient thing to have, but we are excited about the long term results: a new lobby and restaurant, new pool and fitness center, new guest laundry, renovated rooms and amenities, updated exterior style and design.

We work really hard at keeping our guests as happy as they can be during this time, despite the inconvenience of construction, and we welcome your opinions and thoughts. Look for us again by next summer (2012) to be new and construction-free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

A bargain for those on a budget, yet unwilling to compromise on the location. Just keep your expectations in check; all you're getting is a clean, quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Gatos
0.8 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Los Gatos
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos
Hotel Los Gatos
#2 of 6 in Los Gatos
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#5 of 6 in Los Gatos
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel
4.7 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos

Address: 55 Los Gatos Saratoga Road, Los Gatos, CA 95032 (Formerly Inn of Los Gatos)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Motor Hotel Los Gatos
Los Gatos Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.