We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Gatos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Los Gatos to your Saves list
Hotel Los Gatos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 East Main Street, Los Gatos, CA 95030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rates from $206
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoy luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This lovely hotel is located about 2 1/2 blocks from the town square. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and linens are luxurious. Parking is underground with access to an elevator for all floors in the back section. A breakfast is available but not complimentary. Restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. San Jose, Saratoga, Cupertino and the coast are all very close if you want to go exploring. Treat yourself. You'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your honest and candid review of our hotel. Comments like yours allow us to make needed changes for all to enjoy. Please be assured we will address the concerns and make a team effort to correct. We hope to see you again soon in Los Gatos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    59
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
98
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for just one night in the Junior Suite. Extremely comfortable and the staff were very accommodating. We did disclose we had three people and needed the pull out bed but it was not made up properly. Besides that...we'd definitely stay here again. Lovely and Los Gatos is a fun town for all ages to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain side room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
The team was so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have addressed your challenge with the extra bed and appreciate you letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for a night following a business engagement in nearby Santa Cruz. Having driven a very long way to get to Santa Cruz followed by another (albeit much shorter) drive to Los Gatos, we were looking forward to a quiet, relaxing evening which is mostly what we got. Upon arriving mid afternoon we were warmly greeted by the front desk personnel and quickly checked into our room. The reception is the front building of the property while the rooms are located across a courtyard/pool area, so it gave an excellent opportunity to see the property as we walked to our room.

The pool area is a bit small, but very nice to relax in. There was a notation in the hotel information that snacks and beverages could be ordered poolside however it wasn't quite clear how and there was not any staff attending the pool area while we were there (about 2 hours), which was disappointing but not a deal breaker. It was peaceful and quiet until we were joined by a crowd getting an early start on their weekend party mode.

The hotel decor is done with a heavy "spanish hacienda" influence; lovely but VERY DARK. Again, it is lovely but we had to turn on nearly every light in the room so we had adequate lighting. Our room did have a large window with heavy, dark drapery that could be pulled back for ambient light but you need to close it if you want any privacy because the rooms look out on to public areas (ours looked out onto what appeared to be a city parking lot butted up against a hillside). The scenery outside the window was pleasant and we kept the window open when privacy wasn't an issue. The room itself was quite small which was fine for an overnight visit. If I had to be there more than a couple of days it would have been too confining for me. It was quiet for the most part, but we could easily hear the conversation in the neighboring room, which was a little irritating at 6:30 a.m. Beds were ok, the sheets were wonderfully soft and the soaps/shampoos were very nice. The bathroom was almost as big as the room, which was interesting considering it was moderate sized room - it re-enforced how small the sleeping area was.

The onsite restaurant, Dio Deka, was AMAZING! That was one of the most enjoyable meals we have had in a restaurant in a long time. Wonderful food, excellent service, and intimate setting made it perfect. I highly recommend Dio Deka as part of a visit to the hotel, or in Los Gatos (hotel reservation or not). I think that would be the main reason I would return to the property.

The hotel is located directly across the street from a high school and not far from downtown boutique shops (easily walkable). The location was ok, but if you prefer to be a little more central to city attractions other than window shopping, you might want to consider San Jose. Overall it was an ok stay and I would consider returning if I need to be in the general area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We take your comments very seriously and will work as a team to find long-term solutions. We're very happy to hear you will return to us if in the area and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We are in the process of relocating to Los Gatos from the UK, and we have now stayed at this hotel twice; Feb & May 2014.

This hotel is great-; friendly staff, comfortable rooms, lovely pool, close to the local amenities. Room service/ pool snacks are a touch pricey, but that is the case with most hotels around!

Free wifi in the hotel means you can attend to business emails whilst soaking up the sunshine!

This cute little place is now our go to place for friends & family to stay when they come visit.

Fab hotel-Thank you for helping our new life get off to a great start! :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. The feedback for the team means the world to them. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as a getaway for our anniversary. The Junior King suite we booked was very nice. Check-in went very smoothly. During the conversation with the front desk we disclosed that it was our anniversary and that we were having dinner at Dio Deka, Greek restaurant, at the hotel the next night. When we arrived at the restaurant, our menu had the message "Happy Anniversary" printed on the top. We felt that was a nice touch. The staff is very pleasant, willing to do whatever is needed. The room was well appointed. I did not find the bed uncomfortable as reported by another reviewer. We did find that the buffet breakfast was underwhelming and that coffee was an extra charge if that is all that you wanted, not what you would expect from a hotel of this expense. The location was perfect. Easy walking to the main shopping and restaurant district. Very comfortable area with lots of people out walking. More people walking their dogs than I think I have even seen in Carmel. Would we go back, yes, in an instant. It was a three hour drive from us, so completely doable for a weekend and Los Gatos was just lovely.

Room Tip: We had room 248 which was upper level in the back with a lovely balcony under a huge oak tree. No s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your positive feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Los Gatos. We sincerely appreciate your kind words. We hope that when you have travel in the area that you return to stay with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is located in the heart of Los Gatos. A quaint little town with lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. The service was excellent (especially Ryan in the breakfast area :) The room was clean and there is lots of room. It was a nice quiet area. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Rochelle J:

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Los Gatos and for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again for your wonderful review.
Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place perfectly reflects the area: affluent, Spanish, Valley and --- quaint!
Spacious rooms, decorated in velvety, plush material and done in "posh Hacienda" style.
I felt spoilt in this "lush & plush" place and had no complaints!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sabine G:

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your positive feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Los Gatos. We sincerely appreciate your kind words. We hope that when you have travel in the area that you return to stay with us. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Gatos

Address: 210 East Main Street, Los Gatos, CA 95030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Gatos 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean sophistication blends with California charm to create a hotel reminiscent of a private villa. Hotel Los Gatos is nestled in historic downtown Los Gatos at the base of the Santa Cruz Mountains and a short drive from hyper-paced Silicon Valley and the soothing Santa Cruz coast. Atmospheric guestrooms capture the color and detail of a private villa. Dio Deka restaurant serves its award-winning Hellenic cuisine, and the Spa Elia offers wellness and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Los Gatos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Gatos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.