We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Gatos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Gatos to your Saves list
Hotel Los Gatos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 East Main Street, Los Gatos, CA 95030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rates from $206
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
california
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Really, nice older hotel with lots of charm. I was there for three nights for work and enjoyed the service and food. Very comfortable rooms. A little dated, but nice Spanish style.

Restaurant is fantastic.

The location is ideal. Close to restaurants and shopping. Would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Good Afternoon Twinexplorers:

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your feedback on your recent stay @Hotel Los Gatos. On behalf of the entire staff we are delighted and grateful for your kind comments. We hope that you will continue to stay with us when in the area on business. Enjoy your day.

Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    57
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
29
95
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I went to Hotel Los Gatos for a Romantic Getaway and to celebrate my fiancée’s birthday and it was amazing. The employees there are very helpful and made my stay amazing. The room was beautiful I loved the Mediterranean feel of it and the fireplace kept everything nice and cozy, oh and the balconies.... breathtaking!! We stayed in the Junior suite!! There is so much to do that’s nearby as well. I had a blast and will definitely be back SOON!!!

Room Tip: Junior suite was great but next time I'm going to go BIGGER lol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Italee L:

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your wonderful feedback!! Our staff is smiling ear to ear. We would be thrilled to have you & your fiance return again & again! Stay in touch so we know when you are coming back. Have a great day and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for 9 days on our honeymoon. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating to any of our requests or needs! We have a special thank you to Ryan; we looked forward to seeing him each and every morning due to his impeccable service. It is rare to see somebody at that early hour with such a friendly demeanor on a consistent basis; my wife and I especially enjoyed our time spent with him each day. Kudos also to Jan; she went above and beyond by recommending local sites and even driving to a local restaurant to bring us back there menu without even being asked, because we mentioned that we were looking to spend some time in at your lovey resort for a quiet light dinner together after a long day of touring. Your team made us feel like the most welcome guests you had; it made our honeymoon most special-and we are already planning a return anniversary trip!!! Thank you all so much for the great service showed to us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear James Z:

How are you today? Thank you so much for taking time to share your awesome feedback on your recent stay @Hotel Los Gatos. Your words are music to us & we are so grateful. I love Norwalk, CT - I lived there. You must return for your Anniversary so we can spoil you & your lovely wife.
Take care,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I commuted to silicon valley for 9 months before transitioning permanently. Of all of the hotels in the area (and I tried many), this became my preferred "home away from home". It's not the Ritz, but rather a smaller, very comfortable place. The rooms were decent. The staff was very friendly and responsive to my needs. My rate included a decent breakfast (scrambled eggs, potatoes, juice/coffee. The Los Gatos Creek running trail is a few blocks away. The masters swim group at Los Gatos high school across the street welcomed an occasional visitor. The town has GREAT restaurants and a good vibe.

All in all, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs in the main building that are open to the lobby can get a bit noisy if parties run la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear jhb2550:

Hope you are having a great day! Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your feedback on your recent stay @Hotel Los Gatos. On behalf of the entire stay we are grateful for your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future. Please say hi when you are in town.
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Horrible horrible horrible. Booked thru Amex centurion concierge and requested late checkout since this hotel isn't part of their preferred program so does not automatically come with 4pm checkout. Upon arrival was told we had Amex centurion late checkout which is always 4pm. On day of checkout I receive a phone call at 115pm asking when I was leaving. I respond that I have a 4pm late checkout. No, the rude man (Jared I think), says, you were given a 1 pm checkout. I need you out of the room now.
What?? I tell him i can't leave at that minute, I need at least till 2pm. "That doesn't work for me", he says.
So, let me get this straight - you don't tell me upon checking in that I have a 1 pm checkout, you don't say anything my entire stay, and now you're kicking me out of my room?
Yes that's exactly what they did. I had to wait ON THE SIDEWALK (keep in mind I'm 9 MONTHS PREGNANT too) with all my luggage and two dogs for my husband to rush over from his meeting. Oh, and while I was sitting outside the main lobby, they made sure to close all the doors to signify I wasn't welcome to wait inside.
Save your $ and skip this awful hotel. 1 star service

Oh and if the manager responds on here it's solely to try and save face. He couldn't care less when we complained in person. Filed formal complaint with Amex as well

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear DoubleVE:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your unpleasant experience. I am sorry that I was not on-site to assist you with your unfortunate experience. My hope is to speak with you. I will be contacting American Express office. I look forward to speaking to you soon.
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this boutique hotel back in June and really loved it, so we decided to book again for one night as a quick overnight stay before we caught our direct flight to Maui out of San Jose Airport on an early morning departure. On our last visit, I signed up for their " I Prefer " guest appreciation program, as I usually like to belong to as many hotel guest loyalty memberships as possible, since they can offer some really great perks. This one really paid off as we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite and also had a half bottle of Testerossa Pinot Noir wine and handmade chocolates waiting for us in the room when we arrived! What a surprise that was for having only stayed there one time before. The staff is always outstanding and very helpful in every way. The rooms are immaculate and elegantly decorated to the point that you feel like your a guest in a private Mediterranean villa. They have a nice little "breakfast for a fee" set up off the lobby, but coffee and tea are complimentary and if you would like something more substantial there are a lot of great choices within walking distance of the hotel. Whether you are looking for just a quick overnight stay, or a romantic weekend away from the kids, this hotel is the absolute best in Los Gatos. Book as early as you can, as this hotel is often fully booked and there really is no comparable hotel avaliable in Los Gatos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear MarinCountyJohn:

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Los Gatos & Spa. Your review was fabulous and the entire staff is grateful. We hope to become your special place & that we will be seeing you again in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Linda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed recently with my husband and 2 year old and found it to be a lovely, convenient, luxurious, friendly hotel. We had a 2 room suite with a balcony in the back building and I loved the Mission architecture and furnishings. The pool was super fun for my little one and I while my husband worked. The room service menu lacked any sort of children's menu so they suggested a local pizza delivery company that also had pasta and salads which worked much better for us. The service was good, people friendly, room lovely. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. One gripe: charging for the continental type breakfast piecemeal seemed petty. Charge one price or don't charge at all.

Room Tip: We chose a quiet room in the back - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLG, General Manager at Hotel Los Gatos, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear NVRam123:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Los Gatos & Spa. Your feedback provides the motivation for our staff to continue to improve. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Sincerely, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Gatos

Address: 210 East Main Street, Los Gatos, CA 95030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Gatos 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean sophistication blends with California charm to create a hotel reminiscent of a private villa. Hotel Los Gatos is nestled in historic downtown Los Gatos at the base of the Santa Cruz Mountains and a short drive from hyper-paced Silicon Valley and the soothing Santa Cruz coast. Atmospheric guestrooms capture the color and detail of a private villa. Dio Deka restaurant serves its award-winning Hellenic cuisine, and the Spa Elia offers wellness and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Los Gatos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Gatos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.