We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Testarossa

Testarossa
300-A College Avenue, Los Gatos, CA 95030
408-354-6150 x21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Los Gatos
Attraction details
Los Gatos, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised that the owner made an attempt to preserve some of the history and tradition of the Novitiate winery and Jesuit winemakers that originally occupied this location since 1888. This is some of the most important history of the Santa Clara Valley. Hopefully more will be done in the future to highlight this fascinating story there. I found the wine to be good to very good. Most notable is the Pinot. But 'very good' doesn't merit 'very expensive' in my opinion so it hasn't become a regular in my rotation. The grounds are beautiful with the potential of a beautiful picnic spot and small event venue with a little more work. Being a resident of Los Gatos, I'm very glad to have this winery to take visitors to while visiting. Tasting is $10pp which seems a bit steep for this flight. All things considered, don't miss this winery if your in the area!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great winery in Los Gatos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This winery is a one of my favorite places. here you can see not only the the beautiful setting but also learn about the beginnings of wine making in Los Gatos. The winery is located and also has the old wine cellars of the old Novitiate winery. The wines are very good, a little bit expensive. But the setting and ambiance is a great place to have a picnic or to eat at the restaurant that is located in the winery.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SouthBay Wine Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Testarossa is a first class winery with a fantastic new 'wine bar' that exceeded my expectaions. What a great way to spend a quiet Friday evening...First class all the way! The Gary's Pinot is not to be missed!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Be a local”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were just in San Jose and had a little time to wait so we chose a couple of things to do. Driving to Los Gatos was a nice drive and a very interesting town not very far. We decided to go to a local Winery for a tasting and stopped at Testarossa Winery. It is a nice drive in a very secluded area however not hard to find. A very impressive location and tasting entrance. The staff was very nice and the wines were good. It cost $10. each unless you purchase wine which was not bad. The people from the local area were very nice and we enjoyed the event. They gave us a wine to taste which we like then said it was not for sale. We ask how much and were again told not for sale. As we left we mentioned it to the a couple of locals and they showed us the bottle they just bought. So it pays to be local.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second time try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First time we visited it felt crowded and rushed so we thought try again. We came back for our second try on a Sunday. The tasting room was still way to crowded to enjoy. More like a factory, heavy sales pressure. The outdoor wine bar is a beautiful setting and the wine was great, tried Doctors Pinot. But the food and service very disappointing. It took so long for the food to come out and our waitress spent the time talking to a another staff person and playing with her hair, how gross. Not sure will try a third time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Testarossa also viewed

 

Been to Testarossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Testarossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.