We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trendy restaurant with great food and ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opa!

Opa!
27 North Santa Cruz Avenue, Los Gatos, CA 95030
408-399-7417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 122 Restaurants in Los Gatos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cupertino, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“trendy restaurant with great food and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our second visit to this restaurant. We took a couple of other friends' with us based on our previous experience.

This is a very popular restaurant judging by the wait time. Granted, we were a large party of 10 and went there for lunch on Saturday of Thanksgiving weekend. After a wait of over an hours with the kids getting restless, we were given a table in the inside room. The restaurant's modern decor and style appeal to us.

Waiters were very friendly. I ordered the chicken gyro wrap. It was very tasty - the pita bread warm and soft, the meat tender, juicy and the right amount of spice .The garlic/feta fries along with it were excellent. Unfortunately, some of us got the fries cold. When we told them, they immediately apologized and got a fresh batch of fries. Most of us got the pita wraps. One of us got a burger, which was also excellent.

This time, we skipped the drinks, but I could tell from the drinks menu that the beers would be nice too! Maybe next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    33
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monte Sereno, California, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Greek in Los Gatos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good fast food in a nice upscale setting. A great bar scene, nice salads, soups, lamb. The best Greek food in town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun Lunch While Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We like to stop in for a late lunch while shopping. You miss the lunch crowd, which is good because the place is rather small and narrow. We like sitting at the high tables toward the front and having beer and appetizers or salad )lots of good choices) while people watching.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a casual lunch/dinner...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Unlike its more upscale counterpart Dio Deka, Opa has an extensive menu priced for the average diner (in Los Gatos at least!).

I love their appetizers and normally order a bunch, so you get to eat a bunch of different things instead of a single entre..

The Fiery Feta dip, both the meatballs, the fried zuchinni, the fries are all great appetizers. You also have the standard gyro and souvlaki options, which are very good..!

An easy choice for dining anytime in LG. Watch out for the lines in the PM and weekends!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good place for an appetizer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The appetizer menu was full of good choices even for a vegetarian and the the quality and quantity was excellent. The pita bread with avocado was tasty and so were the zucchini rounds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opa! also viewed

 

Been to Opa!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opa!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.