We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic bit of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lupin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Gatos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lupin Lodge
20600 Aldercroft Heights, Los Gatos, CA 95033   |  
Hotel amenities
Enterprise, FL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Rustic bit of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having been on the road for two weeks and with another long week of travel ahead, I wanted some down time. Lupin Lodge seemed the perfect place. I took a yurt for two nights and was able to relax completely. The large complex sits on over 100 acres of hillside land above Los Gatos and enjoys a warm and dry microclimate. Once settled you will want for nothing. The restaurant features good food with chalk boarded specials for three meals and will gladly run a tab for the pocket-less. Beer, wine and many non-alcoholic selections are available to accompany your meal. Service is friendly in the restaurant, office and pool bar.
You can be active as you care to be. I enjoyed hiking the hillside trails which were moderately strenuous given the elevations but were well marked, shaded and provided great vistas of the surrounding wooded hills. One trail meant to be a fire exit leads to the road outside Lupin along a nearby reservoir. I found myself hiking here much to the surprise of a few passing cars, bikers and runners. These tolerant locals seemed to pay no mind to my wanderings and I was able to make my way back on property without incident.
Everyone I met at Lupin was friendly and willing to engage a gabby single. One evening I joined a few sports fans in the TV room off the restaurant to watch playoff games. It felt like my own den at home.
The yurt was spacious and pretty clean for what is essentially a canvas tent. The office provides a tool to open the top for ventilation but once the sun goes down things cool right off. Indeed, you’ll be glad for the extra blanket. Several yurts align together so be mindful of talking too loud as they are not soundproofed.
Lupin follows the code of conduct familiar to all first-rate nudist communities so you can relax and enjoy your visit without fear of improper behavior. Whether singles, couples or families, you will find Lupin Lodge a wonderful experience to be enjoyed again and again. I know I’ll be back.

Room Tip: Lower number yurts are closer to the bath/shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san jose ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Naturists who live without pretense in true freedom to be honestly human (warts and all) in this natural environment are the most tollerant, open, real people I've ever known. The kaliedoscope of shapes ages and backgrounds as we chose to disclose and engage with strangers, or not to share anything we did not want to was a true releif from the concrete jungle/rat-race we escaped from.

Room Tip: Yurts are a fantastic nest-like experience. Tents are fun, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Lupin Lodge was By Far the BEST experience my husband and I have ever had together. The people there were helpful and very compassionate. The food was great and the atmosphere was to die for. Even the animals came out periodically to join us and share in our company. We have never felt so compelled to go back to anything like this until we visited this fine establishment. The staff was professional and very friendly. Everyone there really went out of their way to help us feel at home with ourselves and in nature. We both feel like years of stress has washed away from us and we have everyone that resides and who is employed at the Lupin Lodge for their gratitude. This was a life changing experience for my husband and I and we will be frequenting this place as often as possible. Conveniently located right off of highway 17 this is the Perfect Couples Get Away. Note~ NOT for pervs. So Please Do Not Be those kind of people. This is a naturalist environment so Have Some Cooth and Respect! We Love You Lupin!!!!! Joe and Gina Janisse~

Room Tip: Our Cabin was beautifully located in a quiet area surrounded by wild life and serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Had a great relaxing time. Yurt was comfortable, clean and well maintained. Lots of wildlife, deer, turkey, skunks. You must meet Maureen she is the sweetest and nicest person we meet and can tell you lots about the community and local surroundings. Food not so good. Pool, bathhouse, restroom and hot tubs were all clean and well maintained. All in all we had a great relaxing time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Visited Lupin for the Western Naturist Gathering and what a wonderful & peaceful place to call home for a week. During the hot afternoons the clean large pool was a refreshing treat, and not to be out done by the sun, the cool evenings brought the perfect opportunity to gaze at the beauty of the stars while relaxing in one of the two hot tubs. As a bonus this is all enjoyed au natural:D
The food is fresh and tasty, the yurt clean and comfortable, the guests respectful, and the grounds were meticulously kept. As an added feature there is amazing sculptures located around the resort to admire, along with local artist's works featured in the restaurant. Also, if you want to leave the grounds there are some great restaurants located in Los Gatos along with shopping opportunities.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lupin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupin Lodge

Also Known As:
Lupin Hotel
Lupin Hotel Los Gatos
Address: 20600 Aldercroft Heights, Los Gatos, CA 95033
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Los Gatos
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lupin Lodge may offer the ultimate value in clothing-optional relaxation and nude recreation in the San Francisco Bay Area. Members escaping the pressure-cooker of nearby Silicon Valley swear that only a few hours spent au natural at Lupin provide the de-stressing equivalent of a seven-day cruise. Just imagine how relaxing an Eden-like vacation or holiday getaway might feel at one of California's most scenic naturist resorts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lupin Lodge to your Saves list