We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what I was looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Garden Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Inn Hotel
46 East Main Street, Los Gatos, CA 95032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Los Gatos
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for what I was looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was traveling alone and wanted to feel safe, and the Garden Inn Hotel was perfect for that. I also wanted a place that was close to restaurants and I was instantly hooked on the Purple Onion for a quick yogart, granola, fresh fruit drizzled with honey and a coffee every morning. Could eat while driving into work in Sunnyvale, which took me approx 25 min every morning. The shopping looked wonderful, but closed too early for me to take advantage of, closed at 6:00PM. Title Nine, William Sonoma, and lots of specialty shops. Back to the hotel, the bathroom was small but I had no problems with it, had hot water every morning. The TV was huge and had Direct TV, refrig was handy, and had to run the heater one night. I would grab dinner at Whole Foods up the street and bring back to eat at the outside tables set up at the Garden Inn. I will come back the next time I'm back in Sunnyvale for work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
17
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is my third stay at this hotel and my second in room 22. When reserving, I paid $10 extra per night for a Superior room, but ended up in the same room as before. As noted by others, the walls are paper-thin. Good thing the AC/heat is noisy.

This room has not been refurbished. The bathroom linoleum is in bad shape. The cabinet in the bathroom is so close to the toilet, you need to sit sideways. It was taking 4 minutes to get hot water out of the sink, and the flow was so low, on the last morning, I unscrewed the sink filter, only to find it crammed FULL of tiny wood chips. (Which was an improvement, because they looked like bugs at first!) This room has an old tile shower with a plastic shower curtain - no tub. AND the hot water ran cold 2 minutes into my shower.

The mattress on the bed feels a little old, kind of worn-in. It is encased in a plastic mattress cover and the linens are definitely poly-cotton, not all cotton.

No ramps for luggage, so be prepared to haul bags over the cobblestone courtyard.

NOW, having pointed out this hotel's flaws, let me tell you I'll stay there again and again. The price is right! $98-$110 for a basic-superior room. It is a 22 second walk to the Purple Onion, a wonderful breakfast-coffee place and 1 minute from all of the shopping and restaurants in Los Gatos.

The rooms have kitchen amenities including a fridge, plates and wine glasses and a microwave. I usually stop at Trader Joes, pick up some snacks and a bottle of wine. The hotel keeps two bottles of water in the fridge for each room. There are a gazillion channels on the satellite tv. The internet is speedy and there are usually fruit and granola bars in the office for breakfast. The rooms have always been spotless.

Like most businesses in Los Gatos, the hotel keeps a water bowl outside for the local dogs on their walks and it's especially fun to sit in the courtyard and people watch. I had a great chat one morning with a woman walking her Great Dane, who stopped at 6 water bowls along the sidewalk.

It's a quirky little place with personality and a neat little place to stay, just know what to expect.

Room Tip: Rooms 20 - 24 are closest to Main Street & have not been redone. Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was fortunate to get the last room available in Los Gatos- unfortunately it was the only room at the Garden Inn that has yet to be remodeled. That said, for $119.00 I felt it was appropriate. I would recommend any other room- just not the patio room #20 until it has been remodeled. Since I was unable to see any of the newly remodeled rooms, I can only comment on room #20- very small, tiniest shower and bathroom ever with a vinyl shower curtain. Two double beds pushed together to make a queen? Kinda lumpy with sketchy bedding, but I slept through the night- not too noisy for being on the main drag of LG. On the plus side- great coffee selection in the lobby plus bananas and snack bars are all complimentary. Karen and all other front desk people very pleasant. Great location within walking distance to everything in LG. Try to get Marilyn Monroe's honeymoon room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a cute little hotel in the middle of Los Gatos. Everything is in walking distance. It's quit economical... definitely not fancy, but clean, and many rooms of kitchenettes or microwaves. Did I say that it is smack in the middle of Los Gatos, with the Purple Onion, next door and the Pasteria across the street.

I live in India right now and my house in Los Gatos is rented out, but when we come back for a visit, this is where we stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The standard deluxe room ($115) was excellent. Although small, the room is beautifully decorated, nice furniture and everything you would need including free wireless and drinking water. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large, spotless and well equipped. The setting in little bungalows is really nice too and the property well maintained. The only thing worth keeping in mind is that there seems to be poor noise insulation between the rooms (mine also had a connecting door). If the clock alarm next door goes off, or the TV is on, or people are talking loudly you will hear it.

Despite that one gripe (sorry) I must say this hotel is excellent value for money, absolutely brilliant location right in the town and the staff are super helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

One last tip - the hot water tap in the shower is adjusted (understandably so) not to be scolding hot. But if it is not hot enough, the maintenance guy will come and adjust it. Just ask.

Room Tip: Get a room on an end unit and not with a connecting door between rooms - it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The rooms are a bit small...but who cares! The hotel is in the middle of everything! It's a quick walk to restaurants and shops. Plus, the staff are very nice and helpful. This is my second stay, and I'll be headed back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

They gave us a deal for $89 because the AC was out in this particular room. We were fine with the open window and ceiling fan. This is a very quaint, small, prewar garden courtyard place. There's nothing fancy going on here. The architecture is fantastic, the landscaping is superb, and you easily can picture the historical significance of the place/influence of old Hollywood (Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio stayed here on their hotel night in room 34). I enjoyed the concept of it, and mostly enjoyed my experience. However, whoever did their renovation in 1999 made some poor choices in things like the bathroom cabinet, hooks, bedspread, lamps....all this stuff is from Target...I recognize it. It had a cheap look. For example, the bathroom tiles and tub were recovered with that ceramic paint stuff. However, there was plenty of hot water and I loved the vintage huge tub and took a great hot bath. Somebody with an eye for the style of this place needs to take over the decorating, and understand that you get what you pay for as far as mattresses, furnishings, etc. I was told they have new owners and that they're slowly fixing up the place. It's gorgeous and should not be left to somebody who doesn't know what a gem they have.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a new mattress. Supposedly they're being replaced soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn Hotel

Address: 46 East Main Street, Los Gatos, CA 95032
Location: United States > California > Los Gatos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Los Gatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in convenient downtown of Los Gatos, about 15 minutes from San Jose in Silicon Valley. You may walk to restaurants and shops just across the street. Over and above standard hotel services, you get free high speed internet, daily dining vouchers for 5 restaurants, athletic club, all free. We also have kitchenette and free overseas calls for extended-stay guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Los Gatos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.