We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Rock State Park

Castle Rock State Park
15000 Skyline Blvd., Los Gatos, CA
650/867-2952
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Los Gatos
Activities: Hiking, Backpacking, Rock climbing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular park is ideal for hikers, backpackers, and rock climbers, and perfect for day trips.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A good friend of mine (a seasoned hiker) recently introduced me to Castle Rock State park and I must say that it was a great hiking spot! The rocks are very fun yet challenging to climb. Not a place for someone who doesn't want to get their hands a bit dirty, though! The only problem is that parking is a bit tricky sometimes (come on a weekday if possible). Other than that, enjoy the beautiful rock formations and trails!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorite day use Parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great hiking and rock climbing (one pitch top rope), good view from some spots. Parking can be a hassle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lovely place for hiking, rock climbing, or camping. Different length and level of trails for everyone - we camped here as teens and still come for the beautiful hikes now as adults.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sandstone and Trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A beautiful place to hike in the Santa Cruz Mountains with moss covered trees and cool sandstone rock formations. We hiked the 5.6 mile Saratoga Gap Loop Trail that leads straight into the woods on a gentle downhill path. The sign at the trailhead says a moderately difficult hike but I would say moderate. Less than a mile down the trail following a stream, the trees open up to Castle Rock Falls and panoramic views of the Santa Cruz Mountains. A little further down the trail you can look out and see the Pacific Ocean in the distance. We also watched some rock climbers on the sandstone rock formations. The upward part of the climb left me a little winded, but for the most part it was a gradual slope upwards. This was a beautiful hike and I enjoyed it very much.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scenic hiking & bouldering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It's a little bit of a drive from Silicon Valley, so I only hike there 2-3 times per year, but it's one of our favorite places for a day trip & hike. A little bouldering available too, and rock climbing for those who are prepared (or watching for the rest of us). Park on Skyline for free (I do) or support the park and pay to park in the lot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Castle Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Rock State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.