We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique eating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wool Growers

Wool Growers
609 H Street, Los Banos, CA 93635
209-826-4593
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Los Banos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unique eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you're ever in Los Banos then a visit to Wool Growers should be on your todo list. The communal dining room is sited behind a bar and is quite a surprise when you walk in. The only place that I've seen that comes close is the Samoa Cookhouse.

The meal is a set menu of several courses and includes wine. You would need to be very hungry to finish all the food set before you. No one pretends it is haut cuisine but it is very good value for the money.

Next time we go I shall miss breakfast to do justice to the meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    17
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unbelievable that restaurant food can be so tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Easy parking, nice wait staff - and AWESOME food! Wonderful soup, crisp french fries, excellent main dishes. Tried chicken and prime rib so far, also tasty side dishes. Portions too large, luckily you can get plastic bags from the restaurant. Good red wine, included in price. Cash only.Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

One day we decided to take a ride, and hit the back roads of the San Joaquin Valley--a very nice ride to Los Banos took us past wineries, and some wonderful and unknown to us some very upscale vegetable stands with all kinds of gourmet goodies. Our destination was Wool Growers, a restaurant we had heard a lot about, and when we arrived, we knew why. Old school, nothing fancy, but the food was delicious, and never ending. I have tried several dishes and usually share one with my partner, so we get more variety. The salad, bread, pasta, veggies, main dish, and dessert leave you content, and satisfied. Very reasonable prices, and patrons from all over are immediately your best friends. Highly recommend this place, worth the drive--

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Make sure you are hungry when you arrive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow talk about stuffed! Great food speedy service and great prices. A great place to go with a large group of people it can really turn into a party!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great food. Authentic site. Lots of food. Good bar. And the Basque fare was really excellent. I'm Basque. This is a real, good Basque restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wool Growers also viewed

 

Been to Wool Growers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wool Growers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.