We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tons of food, low prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sixth Street Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sixth Street Diner
925 6th St, Los Banos, CA 93635-4215
209-826-1128
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Los Banos
Cuisines: American
Description: storefront restaurant, mom and pops type of place, very friendly, excellent food with hearty portions
Restaurant details
Description: storefront restaurant, mom and pops type of place, very friendly, excellent food with hearty portions
Los Banos, California, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tons of food, low prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place serves so much food, you can split a meal and still get plenty. Great burgers. Great fish and chips too! They have huge breakfasts too! Old fashion diner atmosphere with cute decor. Fast, friendly service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“old school diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

nice old school style eatery huge portions had the lingusia and over easy eggs my hash browns were crispy good job

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The portions are huge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

1st time in today. I ordered take home. Bacon cheese burger, steak fries. S.O.S.-a huge plate of tri-tip smothered with country gravy over sourdough, 3 eggs and hash browns. I'm a big eater and I could only finish half. I was amazed at the portion of the kids meal- mini cheese burgers. You could easily feed two 7 yeas olds off the one plate. My family overall... Pleased with our food. It wasn't to die for , but very good. I will be going back

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice "hole" in the wall diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a small place but the food is good and very tasty. It is a mom/pop operation and they keep their prices very affordable. It is located on Main Street downtown. The place is decorated with various things of yesteryear. This place can get very crowded and moving about to get to the exit can take some maneuvering but it's not a problem. The proportion of food is generous, the taste is very good and the price is very affordable. I highly recommend this place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Yes, I understand that the word diner usually has a bit of grease and fast food element to it, but the Sixth Street Diner was a disappointment. It had been recommended by a few people, so we gave it a try. It was busy - a good sign, but the food that came after quite a long wait was not very good. The shrimp was greasy, and my partner's turkey was served with something that looked and tasted like canned beef gravy. I suggest you skip this place and go to Ryan's where you will get a much better meal. We won't rush back to the Sixth Street

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sixth Street Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sixth Street Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sixth Street Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.